Tree in a Bowl

7df8671a-1933-44fa-ad15-086297416723.jpeg


I was setting out to take a picture of the cooking liquid from the purple sweet potatoes I had cooked. It didn't show up well in the pot - so, I thought a glass bowl would be better.
The kitchen doesn't have good light. That means going out onto the veranda.

Well, and this is what I got 😄

A tree in a bowl!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

Oh, that's actually sort of pretty, all the tiny details of the tree. However, I found this post by searching around for purple sweet potatoes. Introduced these to my son a couple days ago...he hated them, mad drama ensued, I dug in my position (FINISH THEM!), he stayed firm on his (tears), I backed off, sort of.

This evening, we were at the store. I jokingly pointed out the purple sweets, his reaction was, uh, caustic. Was curious to know if this is a common kid reaction to purple s.p. He likes the orange ones just fine. This is very confusing for me.

I haven't tried to give them to a little kid - sorry, I can't help. Sometimes kids don't want to eat something unexpected... I guess it could be introduced as a completely different food - maybe they wouldn't have an expectation attached to it? How old is your son?

I don't know, it's the strangest damn thing. I mean, my son is six years old, he's vegan, he eats just about everything (mom's malaysian, so he eats spicy everything too) that grows out of the ground. He absolutely loved the color of them. We literally juice either kale, collards, or chard every day. Lost!

I was starting to think that perhaps the purple s.p. are haunted, inherently evil, or perhaps just perceived as some sort of black hole by my son and he's afraid to be sucked into them and separated from his parents forever. It's weird and it sucks because they are quite delicious and I doubt I'll buy them again :(

Or maybe just buy a small amount for yourself and eat them without even offering them to him. Just make a happy face every time you eat them. then, they might become interesting to him. Now, maybe he is reacting to having cried about it the first time he ate them...

good for you that you juice so much. I used to - now, I do mostly green smoothies.

Lovely. It looks like a scrying. A whole story could be spun from this image!

We foretell the future? A tree is in mine for sure :)

And you are right. This could be a good story prompt.

Yes! It's very inspiring.
*thinks witchy thoughts*

haha wow magician girl, you got a tree in a bowl, beautiful, hehe, love it

It is magic, isn't it? 😂

Well, thank you. 😄

This is an amazing photo! I love reflections, and even more the effect of surprise that probably came along with this tree in a bowl - at least I wouldn't have expected a tree in this bowl! ;)

I didn't set out to take it like that - was just looking for some light to take the purple water picture. I don't think it would have worked quite like that on a sunny day - or in clear water. But now, I will experiment with that a bit more :)

That turned out rather well! Definitely an interesting shot. I think without the description some of us would have been left wondering.

Purple sweet potatoes are great btw.

I love them and am trying to get some slips to grow from some of the pieces. And maybe my neighbor who gave this one to me forgot to dig one up and it is going to sprout.

We just got done eating some sweet potato filled ravioli!! so good!

Are you sure its not just broccoli?

yup!! I am sure!! I miss seeing you every day at the selfie challenge :)

Cool photo... I miss you too!

Nice shot. Upvoted. Thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58752.84
ETH 3153.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44