The chipmunk relocation program has started again!

e085b338-44b4-4d3f-8c9a-397f52e0e6af.jpeg


I caught around 20 or so last year and here is the first one for this year. This little guy has already destroyed most of my tomatoes!


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Where do u relocate them to?

I get in the car and drive them a few miles away, over creeks, and hills and I find them a nice wooded area to make a home in! They have their purpose I just don't want to kill them if I don't have to, relocation seemed like the more humane way to go!

Yes more human. But I thought it might be funny if you said you sent them Sheol;)

Sheol...haha!

Our cat loves chipmunks.

There used to be more cats in the neighborhood roaming around, over the last few years the cats have not been around. The chipmunk population took advantage of that!

Not the tomatoes!! Is there anything you can do to discourage them from coming in the first place?
My aunt and uncle that live in WA said according to their laws, they could legally kill (I don’t remember the animal, squirrel maybe) but it was illegal to trap the animal and set it free elsewhere. So odd.

It is odd from one place to another how the laws are setup! As for a way to discourage them...I have heard that cayenne pepper works as well as the sent of a predator animal....I have not tried either one!

That's nice you take the time to trap and relocate them. We relocate pests in a different way:) Like the snake I tanned

Trust me it is only because of where I live, most pests would meet a different end if I was not still within the city limits!

Lol:) Sometimes ya gotta do what ya gotta do!

We had some rats in our chicken coop for a while. We were not so humane...we did send them to SHEOL...they bred like rabbits

OH rats are an entirely different thing!!! There is no humane way in dealing with them!!!

You are a good man, I think I would save the gas and time and let my dogs play with them.

That is a good idea! Would your dogs just kill them or would they eat them too?

They usually eat them, at least rabbits and squirrels they catch!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 60984.38
ETH 3379.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47