The Bees best friend

in #smartphone7 years ago

You can never have too much basil in the garden and the flowers of the perennial basil are so pretty and attract the bees into the garden and as such they then pollinate other plants.

image

I grow the annual sweet basil as well as the perennial basil - when winter comes and the sweet basil is finished, I then have the perennial basil to use.
This basil grows fast and bushy and so whenever I cut it back, I collect the leaves and wash them and pop into plastic bags in my freezer to use in cooking.

Sort:  

Thanks for reading my post and glad you enjoyed it.

This comment has received a 0.27 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @hridoy1.

Plus, it is BEAUTIFUL! Anything that will encourage the bees is a good thing. Great post and thank you for sharing. :)

Glad you enjoyed my post - thank you.

Such a lovely shot!!

Thanks for the compliment.

Bees are really threatened in our part of the world. I collect about 50 mason bee cocoons in the spring from a company. At the end of the season I return to them about 1500 cocoons to help polinate our fruit orchards here in Washington state, USA.

I read your daughters post. It was beautiful. You have passed on a truly lasting and inspirational trait to your daughter. You both connect with my feelings about nature and the garden.
Thank you so much,

echinacea.jpg
echinacea
I will follow you. Hopefully you will follow me and we can learn from one another. I know you have a lot to teach.
Thanks so much,

Thank you for reading both posts - and what you are doing for the bees is amazing - can you post some pics of the cocoons please.
I do what I can for the bees but I have noticed a big decline in the numbers each year.
My borage is going to flower soon so am hoping the bees will enjoy it.

I'm picking up this years cocoons this weekend. I will do a post with photos when I get them set up. It is our spring here.

My husband and I have a dream of coming to Africa; hopefully in the near future. What is the best month to go?

That will be great -
Feb March April -is normally very nice here.

It's so good basil with tomatoes and olive oil !!!
Very good ideas to let them bloom for bees and butterflies.

Oh yes - I love basil with tomatoes and use it all the time - thanks for reading my post.

Basil is one of my favorites as well! Which variety is this; do you know? And what variety is perennial?? I didn't know there was one!

This one is a perennial - just ask at any garden centre for the perennial variety.

Awesome!

Nice post lizziesworld please keep posting stuff like this, there are many things that i have learned from your posts :)

you can check my article about From waste-to-wealth – a small village has shown the way! and give me your feedback!

My article From waste-to-wealth – a small village has shown the way!

Thank you - I will look at your article

THIS IS A SCAMMING ATTEMPT!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62404.06
ETH 2426.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65