Smart Homes - Where to start!

in #smarthome7 years ago

Nest, WeMo, IFTTT, Siri, Hue, Echo, Alexa, Echo. Node Red, Homekit, Lutron, The list goes on. If you’ve tried to figure out the smart home environments you’ll no doubt know there is hundreds of combinations to turn your everyday home into something resembling the Jetson’s, and trying to make life easier.

In addition to the devices you want to automate control of, there is also many decisions over how to control them, whether you use a phone app (or multiple), timed based actions, physical remotes, wall switches, or a voice control device.

As I get ready to move into my new house I will be purchasing and configuring my own system and I want to share the journey with the steemit family.

Whilst Im a long way from finalising my plan, my initial thoughts on what I will be implanting is a combination of the below:

  • Hub
  • Lights
  • Heating / Cooling
  • Blinds
  • Apple TV
  • Sound system
  • Garage Door opener
  • Single App controlled (iPhone)
  • Raspberry PI
  • Node Red / IFTTT coding

Please let me know if you’d like me to cover off any item specifically in more detail. Otherwise - If you have had any experiences with any of these devices, good or bad, Im interested to know, so please share with me! I haven’t decided on which devices for most things yet, so any feedback would be most appreciated!

Happy Smart Homes!

pexels-photo-302810.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50