To all blockchain experts, is this feasible?

in #smartcontract7 years ago

Hello, I know most steemit post mostly come off like they're the authority. But I want to make a post that's quite different. I want to ask how possible it is to create a small payment script utilizing Etheruem smart contracts and a few APIs. If anyone is interested in chatting with me offline, I'll drop my contact info below.

Anyway, so I am a lazy slob. But as a lazy slob, I still somewhat like a clean apartment. I'm so lazy in fact that I hate going to the ATM machine and withdrawing cash. However to keep my apartment clean, I hire a house keeper and she comes and clean for me. However I often don't have cash on hand, so she allows me to send her money via moneygram. I hate the moneygram fees, and I hate the fact that the transactions aren't really anonymous either. So I eventually told my house keeper to get bitpay and I can start paying her via my Genesis mining payouts and such.

However what if I'm too lazy to do even that. What if I wanted to create a smart contract for a certain account, and have payment sent to her if I confirm (via some sort of script or app) that she did the service, and I was satisfied with her service. Then it could send Ether over to her address, and then use the shapeshift API (not sure if one exists) to convert it to bitcoin, then send it to her address.smart-contracts.jpg

Now as to how these messages are passed, I can pretty much think of the orchestration piece myself. But I just wanted to understand how practical this is, and what are some of the technical limitations to such a proposal? I'm not asking anyone to code this for me. I actually am a software engineer who codes in Python, Java, Ruby, and a little bit of Golang. But I've been looking to get my feet wet in creating apps that utilizes the blockchain or smart contracts.

Would love to chat with a blockchain dev or expert, not to have them take this over, but just to offer a bit of guidance. Anyway, if interested hit me up at [email protected]. And I hope I can get some good responses in the comment section.

Sort:  

ea6081c61d75473232fa5d5e3bc3fd82--bill-gates-quotes-love-friendship-quotes.jpg

After doing some research, I found that I can create a solidity smart contract, and then use pytheruem to apply the smart contract to my client code. So pretty cool stuff. I'm probably going to install geth and testrpc on my laptop today after work.

That sounds ... a lot less lazy than just visiting the ATM once a week lol :D

Hello dear, am not really a blockchain expert, but I love your post.
Nice post

Nice Post Thankyou So Much

clever idea i am now following you

Your post is promoted. Promotions make SBD & STEEM stronger.
Your reward is an upvote and 0.20 SBD extra promotion.
Good job, see you next time in Promoted! ;)
#steam4steem

I'd be interested if you end up doing a kind of tutorial on how to code this here on Steemit. Smart contracts are quite new to me, never did spend time to look at all this. The use case you describe ("click" to approve payment if service is as expected) is for me typical use of smart contracts. The conversion from eth to btc though.. I don't think, but I might be wrong.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72