You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The SmartNode Smartest Guide! 🤩😜😋 - Medium/Advanced reading!

in #smartcash6 years ago

@forykw you had Android on your list of platforms? How exactly is this done? To my current knowledge we are not yet able to start nodes from the Android wallet and I do not imagine you could run a node on your Android device (can you?)
As someone who has followed the initial #smartnode guide and the bash script to set-up several times. I find your instructions is for the super advance user. You clearly know what you are talking about but not many would, I wouldn't.
I am sure someone on the same frequency as you would understand and for that I say well done.

Sort:  

Hi there,

Thanks for reaching out.

Yes indeed you will need root access to the Android device to make it a smartnode. So not for trivial users.

I am going to receive soon (I hope) an Android TV box, and I am planning on trying this for smartcash. If I like the results, I am planning on making it available to the public.

I would use the Android Smartcash wallet though. That's pretty easy and if you are a user of smartcash, then having it on your phone is super handy.

I know I have short-cut some of the step-by-step processes that usually people seek... but because there was already a smart guide, my intention was to fast accelerate people that are already familiar with some concepts and just want to fast try. At the same time, because I am mentioning the original guides, normal users can also retain those ones.

Sorry if this post made you feel somehow confused. The idea was not that, at all. But, maybe if you come back later on after you get into more of the usual rumble, you will find something of use that I was trying to transmit.

Cheers

Interesting. #smartcash wallets can be run from pretty much any device with a browser of sorts. #Smartnodes on the other hand need to be started from a QT wallet. How are you going to by pass this? This I would like to know.
Android TV box sounds very cutting edge. I will be waiting to see the outcome. Do keep us posted.

Android is like a "sort" of Linux derivated OS... if you can gain "root" privileges, you can access the base operating system. Then you are able to do the usual stuff, like building code and configuring stuff. Usually "rooting" an Android, breaks the warranty. So, this is why is not something every user can do. But it's not crime! =)

Thanks you. I did not know that. That is very interesting, anything "Linux" related is usually pretty dependable. I hope you actually do it. I will love to see how it turns out. I was right in my initial assessment - "super advance user" this is a different league entirely, it almost a different game!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45