What Are The Possibilities For A SmartCash and Steem Powered World? An end to Poverty, Debt and Big Butts?

in #smartcash7 years ago

@decentralizd invited the Steemit community to enter a creative writing contest and explore the possibilities of a #SmartCash powered world....

I am relatively new to cryptocurrency, so I know that there are many ways in which Crypto will change the world, many of which I am yet to learn. But here are some areas in which I see cryptocurrencies like SmartCash and Steem changing the future...

Growth and Development

Smartcash, Steem and all other cryptocurrencies have the power to end poverty and bring access to financial services to the poor and the 'unbanked' people. There are huge amounts of communities out there who find development difficult because they have no access to bank accounts. A SmartCash powered world would be a world of financial inclusion, in which through the help of smartphones, communities who currently do not have access to bank accounts, could begin to trade using cryptocurrency.

Philanthropy could be digitalised to the extent that proposals to build hospitals in third world countries could be submitted to the community and voted upon by community members, in places like this SmartHive Governance Portal:

Crowd-funding

One thing that really warms my heart about Steemit is the crowdfunding that goes on here, and the way that worthy causes are truly supported by the community. The fact that we have a social media network built on the Steem blockchain allows for way more effective crowdfunding than would be possible on other social media sites like Facebook.

I remember when I first joined Steemit seeing the story of @darthnava, and how he received over $17,000 in upvotes at a time when he needed it the most.

A SmartCash or Steem powered world will be one in which help is given to those who need it, and the community has the power to give to those in need.

Education


I believe a SmartCash powered world will enable us to have access to affordable education. I don't know about you guys, but unlike my parents who pretty much got paid to attend university, my university degree landed me with a large amount of student debt. Debt that the government made me feel like I needed in order to succeed and get a good job in society.

I believe a SmartCash powered world will allow the price of my kid's education to be decided by society as a whole, rather than the government.

Perhaps instead of going to University of Sydney, my children could explore different courses on a site like Udemy, and pay for their courses in cryptocurrencies like SmartCash. The teachers providing the most value to their students would be the most highly rewarded, and this would be an incentive for them to strive to create consistently excellent course material and educate their students to the highest standard.

Big Brains Will be The New Big Butts

Forget Kim K and the power of her beautiful big ass in influencing content on the internet and TV. A SmartCash powered world could be truly... well... smart. We see it here on Steemit already... People like @jerrybanfield and @hilarski, are to Steemit what Kim Kardashian is to Instagram. Content creators aren't rewarded for superficial reasons, they are rewarded for what value they can bring to the platform.

Instead of pondering whether it is worth getting lip fillers, we will be thinking about new technology. Instead of feeling we need to expose our bodies to be worthy of attention on the internet, we will be feeling like we need to learn more so we can engage in conversations and come up with new ideas.

I have felt it in myself already, as a 27 year old female, any time I spend on Steemit takes me away from the time I spend on other social media sites like Instagram and Snapchat. I spend less time thinking about Kylie Jenner, and more time thinking the economy and the future! And it feels great! Steemit is the kind of social media I would want my daughter to grow up obsessed with, and currencies like SmartCash and Steem are the kind of money I want her to care about.

If you would like to learn more about SmartCash please visit https://www.SmartCash.cc.

Sort:  

I'm going to have to go and say you are the definite winner of the contest! Good job Hannah! I will be in touch with your prize soon! Thank you for participating!

woooo!!! that is so exciting!!!
thanks so much :)

Absolutely love it Hannah! Great ideas!

Great Job, sir mixalot will be playing in my head all day now.

Followed and resteemed.

As one of the unbanked (voluntarily. I have refused to participate in fractional reserve banking for seven years now. I still use their debt coupons, because I have found trading beaver pelts for food impractible) I must caution you on your enthusiasm for cryptos, and particularly on the potential for cell phones to replace fiat currencies safely.

I am not disparaging the potential, and the clear value to those that have no other recourse at present. It's just that cryptos aren't in any way immune to central banking control, nor are cell phones secure.

I'm not even sure beaver pelts are.

Still, your enthusiasm is inspiring, and your intent apparently sincere. I am sure that, in the event problems arise for folks and solutions are developed, you will be amongst the first to promote them.

Thanks!

Edit: I forgot to mentioned that I LOL'ed at the Big Brains = Big Butts metaphor. I find all too often that many confuse the two, and rely on the one when they really should be using the other. There's so many potential jokes here, Imma lapse into catatonia while I contemplate all the ones I should have made =p

you haz beaver peltz?

Actually, my last one got stolen. Every time I move the helpers help themselves. This is why I work alone =/

thank you so much for reading @valued-customer and sharing your response with me in so much detail, very interesting to hear that you refused to have a bank account for 7 years and traded beaver pelts for food instead!!
And yeah, thank you for sharing the cautionary side of things as well for me to think about - I am relatively new to learning about crypto so it is always good to be both sides of the equation so I can get a non-biased view of the reality :)
Glad you Lol'd about the big butts!! haha

the fundamental method of doing EVERYTHING mentioned above.
is to improve technology.
everything else will follow.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by hannahlicious from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60340.89
ETH 2615.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56