Owning a smart phone, 1 week update. I've failed.

in #smart-phone7 years ago

So I finally gave in and got one of these smart phones everyone seems to be glued to, I didn't really see the point in them but thought I'd give it a go.

So after initially setting it up and linking my facebook to the phone and uploading a song as a ringtone (Get me out by New Model Army.) I was all set and armed with it in my pocket I set about facing the new week...

So on the school run waiting for the kids to come out of school I'd pull it out and unlock the phone, flip though what apps are on it and return it to my pocket. On the whole I found it boring, I did manage to take a couple of photographs and had a total of 3 phone calls, none of them important though. It seems a a school yard parent I failed in my use of the phone as it didn't distract me from my kids.

Then last night I went for a meal with the Mrs and I think I broke a golden rule of owning a smart phone. I hold my hands up that I'm guilty as I didn't take one single photograph of the meal, I didn't post to facebook that we were out having a meal and the only time I took the phone out of my pocket was to check the time.
I feel like I've failed the first major tests of being a smart phone owner so now do I have to re-try these important rule of phone ownership?
I'm unsure on how to proceed in my ownership of the phone as I seem to be missing out on wanting to look at the screen every five minutes.

Is it me?

Am I strange and somehow missing something in how to use the phone?

Can I join a self help group to learn how to be a slave to the phone so I fit into this modern society?

IMG_2063.JPG

What can I do so I am not that freak who doesn't have his smart phone glued to his hand?

Sort:  

I think you've just not found what interest you on your smartphone, the one thing that keeps me on my smartphone is funny videos I find online, believe me, those videos have a way of turning a bad day into a funny day... And as we know, laughter is a great drug.
I would recommend you find what interest you on the Internet, and link it to your smartphone, it's not all about Facebook and pictures

Could be worse, my husband still has a flip phone...lol...now he wants to use a smartphone and he still has trouble turning on the computer...lol....upvoted and resteemed

for beginners this is common. Though this seems strange. This is great for you and your family.

your time will not be consumed just because smarphone

You got yourself the wrong one... Go for the new iPhone

I've better things to waste money on than the new iPhone, i only got this one as it was free.

So have I, but if your main intention is to become a slave to your phone you should behave like the apple fanboys do :-)

They can be very useful and no addictive... but for some, not.

Nice & ironic, made me chuckle. Thumbs up!

Loading...

Love your post, it says it all, in sosiety these days more and more people are obsessed with smartphones and I too was in that category until 6 months ago.
I realised that it was taking over my life clocking up 6 hours a day on my phone. I could not understand why I was using all my battery power in 8 hours, I said to my wife "do you remember the old nokia phones and there life span from one charge would last 2 to 3 days" she gave me a look and said to me "you do realise 10 years ago smartphones were not around and you had a life" It quickly dawned on me that I was spending more time on my phone than with my kids.
This was the turning point in my life of phone use, I deleted all apps put my phone in my pocket and now I only use it to make phone calls and send texts. I now charge my phone every two days and I get to read stories to each of my kids before I go to bed.
When it comes to my next upgrade I will be getting the basic of basic phones so I can carry on with a normal active life, instead of being locked away in this little world of smartphones. cheers for the post. I hope you stay the way you are and don't turn into a zombie phone staring person like other people do. A phone should ring and not be able to play games on.

Drew

I'm already anti-social so don't need a phone to make me more so. Got my PC for doing online stuff and the phone is just for if i go out so family can phone me if they need anything.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60728.87
ETH 2661.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50