Should you pay to promote your post?

in #smalltalk8 years ago

So I was wandering through the land of the "promoted" after paying no attention to it for a while and began to notice some things. 

Some of the really high paying posts actually lived here. So I decided to do a quick check of how much was paid to promote the posts. The first post cost about $20 but this isn't bad business if you're already making $80+ on the post.

What then amazed me was that few posts down the line, I saw some ridiculously low numbers with ridiculous high amount paid to promote them and I was like "what the hell?" 

I took some screenshots to share but decided against it. You can take a look at the category to see for yourself. 

Now my question is this; what is the proper way to promote posts on Steemit? Have you tried it? Did it work for you? 

Maybe I should promote this post. Somebody promote this post for me!!!

I'm waitimg to read your tips on promoting posts, how much to pay, what sort of posts to promote.

Sort:  

Promoting posts burns SBD and is good for the economics of steemit. I know there is at least one whale I saw talking about voting on more promoted posts, so it in theory is a good idea. But in practice I don't know if it is currently beneficial to the promoter or not.

So it's a tricky one.
Maybe if there's a guarantee the whales will vote on the promoted posts then it might be a way to, in a way, recycle SBD?

I think that was the intention, perhaps they need to rebrand it to be something like "Reddit gold" where if you get promoted there are other special benefits like a badge on your profile page and access to an exclusive tag like #promoted or something. I don't know really what would help, but this stuff is why we are in beta I think, the devs need to slowly work our way to perfection.

well it worked for me , or i think it did, promoted a past post of mine for 1 cent and got a return of 15 :D so it's working in the sense you have stated it gets you in a extra category :D

@ned @dantheman
First time i'm mentioning you guys. Hope you get to see this.

I promoted a few in the past but I think I lost on it. I have more followers now so it may be different. I don't think it was incentivized back then either. Justtryme90 is right that is is good for the steem economy! I would go for it but I would not promote more than you are willing to lose. Keep it in the cents at first

Good point. The more followers, the more chances of your post being seen. Thanks for that.
You could help me grow my following 😉 If you don't mind 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75