Small business blog / bookstore / self motivation

in #small2 years ago

Seems like time is going by quickly during the day, that should be a good thing but it also feels like I am not getting enough done.

I don’t think I have mentioned what the business is, it was one thing and now it’s also becoming a bookstore. Not that anyone is going to track me down but I still might keep things vague because I might mention sales or profit numbers.

So anyway, I have thousands of books. I don’t know how many I have, I don’t know what kind I have, some are packed into shelves four deep, some are still in the back in a pile four feet high. The goal is to buy, build, or modify shelves into an optimal efficient solution. I am not real sure what that is because of all the different sizes, books get sorted by subject and not size. Do I make two different sections for the same subject? One for small books one for large? Do I make some large shelves and some small shelves in the same area? Do I make them all large shelves so I can move everything around without worrying about size? It will be easier to sort books if I already have the shelves in place but I don’t know what kind of shelves I need until I sort things. Probably best to sort things first.

I guess that’s the next problem. At least in the front the books are all (mostly) off the ground and on to shelves. Step two, sort and then figure out what size shelves I need for whatever books. Maybe I just shouldn’t worry about it. Will it matter that much if a bookcase has 6 shelves vs 7 shelves? I am probably procrastinating by writing all this. I just need to go go go and figure it out as a go, especially since I am not at the point where I am building shelves anyway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59908.77
ETH 3191.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43