Self employed blog / bookstore / self motivation

in #small2 years ago

Well, it’s been about a month since I last made a post. Either I am depressed and have no motivation to make a post or if I have the energy I don’t want to use it here. Maybe I should try and write either way, it’s easy to lose track of which days are good and which are bad.

Things have been good-ish and bad-ish. The good, books are at least mostly sorted A-Z, still not ideal because some are on the floor and some are stacked behind stacks. This week was motivated to clean and organize. Price tags have been falling off for years and I just set the items aside, so I priced what I could of them. Things were r EA lot dusty so it all needed a good cleaning.

The bad - I forget whether or not I wrote on here that I am doing another print advertisement, it’s printed on disposable placemats. I am also several months in for my other print advertisement. My fears seem to be coming true though, I was worried I would get a bunch of customers and things would be a mess. Things seem to be slower than their usual slowness. Maybe it’s the economy. Maybe I have turned any possible repeat customers when they come in and it’s a mess. If the store is half one thing and half another, maybe it’s worse than just being one thing. But I have finally advertised and somewhat organized, somewhat cleaned, and no customers. I guess at least I can say I tried.

Goals are still to clean out back room and build bookcases. If things are clean and organized then I should be able to focus on these things.

I always forget when I am depressed just how unmotivated I am. At least I am telling myself everything is a mess because of depression and not because I am lazy. When it takes effort to tie my shoes, then of course cleaning and running a business is off the table. I can’t believe it’s almost June. This year has flew by. Maybe it’s best if this business fails anyway, I thought I would feel more free running a business, I just feel trapped. Not making enough money to hire anyone. Can’t close without potentially pissing people off.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60122.55
ETH 3199.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43