You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest Round 6! A DSound Community Initiative.

in #smafeedback6 years ago (edited)

Here is my entry, an original gritty hip-hop song produced, written, recorded and mixed/mastered by myself. This song tackles my battle with addiction and my personal prison that came with it. I hope that you enjoy.

By the way, the artist in me left some flaws to add to the originality of the track and the flawed feeling I had when I went through creating this. I will however appreciate any and all feedback!

Thank you for this opportunity!

My Prison.jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry @terminallyill :-) Appreciate it my friend. Have a great night.

@inthenow, thank you for giving me the opportunity, more yet, the platform to share this original work of mine. You guys rock!

You are most welcome. :-D Every 16 days there is a new contest, feel free to jump in at any time and take part. Holla if you got any questions, or hit me up on the Discord too.

What is your Discord name?

the same as my steemit, inthenow :-)

Ok, here's my feedback about your song:

I really like the song, the urban style with all the additives that you put on the track (the dogs, the shots) give the listener the ability to imagine the scenery of a city, maybe a dark neighborhood and a melancholic story, sounds very good, however the piano from 00:45 stun the sound a bit and opaque the voice with its high notes, the brightness of the equalizer may be saturating a bit, I could also advise you to use more props because the stanza sounds empty and something dry because it is only your voice rapping, removing those little details the theme is great, I like the lyrics very much and you have my full support for this contest, greetings and blessings.

@ilazramusic thank you for your honest feedback and full support :) I really appreciate everything!

@terminallyill at your service always my friend, good vibes and blessing always.

I can't get Dtube to play on my crap system. Do you have this song elsewhere?

Good sound effects and tone that paints a stark mental picture. I like the piano mix, with the switch from low to high octave. I think that happens quicker during the chorus, like one turn each? Changes the tone effectively along with the synth.
Sounds like you've accomplished exactly what you were going for here. Nice touch with the footsteps walking off at the end.

Thank you so much @fireawaymarmot :) I'm hoping we can come together for some creative work! I'd really like to help you with some things if you are up for it, as well as learn from you as well!!

Listened multiple times! ;)

Love ho you set the creepy atmosphere of being shoved into the dependence-headspace in world of scarcity. I feel unsafe, high five

I notice your bass is off-center considerably, I wonder if this was an intentional choice. That said, the bass does work well and the center is occupied by other frequency stretches, like your voice which sure needs its space. Gotta listen more to other tracks of the genre and see how they are mixed, since I don't listen to rap often.

You flow really well and have a powerful delivery to your words, which strikes me. I have many times heard words rapped with a weak delivery where I want to believe it but I quite can't - so your track shines in this regard, being an attention grabbing forceful statement with a lot of heart - maybe because of all the pain. Seems like the perfect outlet anyway. <3

Love how the chorus brings in a subtle addition of instruments supporting the intensity of it until all we come back to a verse. Even in the following verses your instrumentation remains interesting throughout the track, which I really like. Often hiphop seems stale to me because so little variety of pattern or color is introduced throughout. This track has done it beautifully.

The strings are perfect, gentle and non-aggressive, good volume and placement.

The sound effects fit very well as well and the piano is about all hope I can hang onto being confronted with your story.

Love how the sound and EQ'ing of the voice underscores the feeling of being trapped as well. Excellent work I gotta say!

and followed ;)

Thank you so much for the honest and in depth review of my material, it honestly made my day to read this :) I take a great amount of pride in my material, from writing to recording, and of course into mixing/mastering. I do like to leave some flaws in the music to accent it's artistic nature, because i believe nothing gains perfection and our flaws are what define us in this world. Thank you for the feedback, it was an absolute pleasure to have read it!

I will have more material soon, if interested I will keep you in the loop. Just let me know my friend!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92