You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SMA Feedback Contest Round 7 - A DSound Community Initiative

in #smafeedback6 years ago (edited)

Would love some feedback on my latest track for sml, I normally don't go for this style, so any impressions you can provide me with will greatly help me in further expanding my skills. What is the track missing? anything that bugs you?
thanks all <3

https://steemit.com/dsound/@paradigmprospect/20180421t161417443z-paradigm-prospector-latinum--sml-challenge-s2r8-latin-music

Sort:  

Thanks for your entry once again my friend, much appreciated! :-D

I really enjoyed the whole mariachi desert vibe to this track. The melody work was somewhat basic, but maybe that's the idea. Liked the horns, as well as the congos and percussion. The piano work was good, but after about 1:30 I wanted to hear more variation of melody - not necessarily any busier, just more variation. At 1:54 when you start to fade out the piano it felt somehow forced. Maybe some sort of a catalyst for the piano fade would work, after developing the melody for a bit longer.
The slow evocative feel of the piece gives it a lot of appeal - loved the howling coyote. The mix works fine, but there's this nagging thought in my head that its just barely too close and clear for the feeling you might be going for. When I think of the desert I think of vastness and distance; I wonder of your mix could reflect this more effectively. Like the piano fade, but more subtle. But this last point is really speculation on my part. I hesitated to put it in, but figured it's worth mentioning for a sense of perspective.

So this was awesome. Thanks so much for your feedback, I can definitely use it a lot!
Guess I put too much focus on not overcomplicating this piece that it turned somewhat stale. The mix feedback was excellent, I tried to imbue some sense of depth with a bit of noise but I feel ya, it does sound too close to paint a wide desert scene.
Thanks again, I will take these hints into account next time I go for something similar in style or feel <3

I like the direction of this tune and where you are going with it! It does feel like i is in very early stages. And knowing your production skills, i am sure as heaven this tune will be fire.
I love love the background animals. always!
The drums, the rhythm, the melody, all instruments support the theme strongly.
So how can we improve on this rad little number who wants to be a boss!?
When I think of this genre think dirty, I think old, I think organic! And I really want that horn to feel more organic. It feels to dry and straight for me. perhaps some reverb would be nice. and or if you have some on it, a little more . Same goes for the keyboard. I want it to feel more organic too. if you are working in Abelton, try putting a "groove" of the instruments to loosen them up a bit. i think experimenting with the grooves on all sounds, might help.
And making this tune feel more organic is my one and most important note!
I love the panning you have going and all the sounds are fitting very well.
I have now listened to it about 6 times and it continues to grow on me. it is really grand.

RIGHT! The dirt is missing! Now that you mention it it could really use some dirty old cloth type of character to it. A good oint, will definitely go for more organic sound atmosphere should I go and make another track with a similar character or setting. Helped massively dude, I will go and check out how to achieve that tomorrow, thank god I save all my project files^^

I am scared using too much reverb but the right one with the right amount could probably change the whole track's impact huh? I work in Bitwig but they have a similar option called "shuffle" and I ought to use it more as it is, good point.
cheers for your feedback and all your attention to detail, I can really use it, especially in styles where I normally don't go.

Need to expand my horizons ;) and some more. and some more
<3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57831.03
ETH 3136.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42