If You Don't Know Or Don't Care About Slothicorn's Values, Please Assimilate or Leave: FULL ON RANT

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Rant:

There are lot of people who don't understand our mission and who are just stealing art from the internet and slapping a Creative Commons license on it.

THIS IS NOT ACCEPTABLE.

If you don't understand what Creative Commons is, please educate yourself. You CANNOT STEAL ART FROM OTHER ARTISTS and just submit it to our Slothicorn collective. This is not right and you are also breaking the law.

Start reading here: https://creativecommons.org/

Art that you can re-combine, must already have the Creative Commons license on it, but even then YOU MUST GIVE THE SOURCE OF WHERE YOU GOT THE ART. That is part of the license rules. If you don't do this, you are breaking a law and you will be flagged, reducing your reputation to very low levels. You need to first educate yourself on all of this, then consider creating SOME ORIGINAL ART for Slothicorn.

This is original art, as she created a puppet and then a stop-motion film:


Gif and puppetry by @marpa

The quality of "art" submitted is getting so low that I now find that it is wasting my time. I created this to discover new and amazing artists who work in the cryptoart field. This is not happening right now, and therefore, I need a trusted assistant to help me wade through all the shitposts.

I knew this would happen, but I am as unhappy as ever, as this was not the goal. If you cannot think of original art, or you're just a faking creativity, please start pushing yourself, and start thinking outside the box. You can make GIFs if you feel that you're new to creative work, but please put some fu*king effort into it.

SLOTHICORN IS NOT A GET RICH QUICK TYPE SCHEME

I started this group because I wanted to find solutions for REAL artists who are stuggling for financial independence. Cryptocurrency can solve some of these problems, when we mix artists with blockchain solutions. Notice I used the word, 'artist'. If you've never considered yourself an artist, and have no real interest in creativity, you might want to join a different group. I encourage people to explore their creativity, but just finding crap from the internet, and pasting it with a bunch of nonsense, has ZERO value to our mission.

/EndRant.

I have a few people I want to thank for their dedication, talent and passion for our mission:

@playitforward who is leading the #global-collage project
@rubenalexander who is leading the Shop and Drop Slothicorn RPG
@khansa who is constantly creating edgy stuff for us
@inquiringtimes who keeps shit together
@kubbyelizabeth who is now helping to manage our group in many departments
@irwanumpal who is passionate about helping people in Slothicorn and a very active contributor
@wanaf who is really creating great and inspiring art, like this Slothicorn Toy:

Keep it Slothy,
Slothicorn

I will be gone for a bit because i got inspired to create some art that takes time, maybe a few days. I need help with curating the slothicorn posts. If you're interested send me a DM, but be warned, I don't work with strangers. If I don't have a relationship with you, then you must build one within the Slothicorn collective before sending me a request.

Thanks for listening.

GIF by @khansa

Our values:

We respect artists, we don't steal from them.

We attribute all Creative Commons art that doesn't belong to us.
We work hard to create value for others and we are dedicated to helping cryptocurrency go mainstream through art, not shitposts.

If you don't feel that these are your values, please educate, assimilate or leave our group.


@khansa (correct me if I am wrong about who created this)

Sort:  

Woohoo, we are going to be awesome together!

Resteemed by a MAP member;
Re-Resteemed by the MAP=AAKOM community.

Good rant - a manifesto for all groups!

I have not heard of your project before I saw your tweet today. I think steemit has some help for this problem. Some programs I have seen keep blacklists. I think it is done with something called sql - I'm not tech-y, but I'm pretty sure you can do it and then you will not have to deal with criminal art thieves in your tag.

I consider myself an artist but I know nothing of crypto and have no art on it. If I see creative commons art on any steemit post - attributed of not - I do not support the post. Anyone can do better than that - artist or no artist. If someone is using cc art, I don't bother reading whatever they wrote. This is my prejudice after working online for few years, but I know I am not alone.

Good luck - there is a lot of interest in crypto these days, so if you are able to ever get some good art going you might get some traction and attract artists to try to post here. I've got at least 1000 artists in my twitter connections. Maybe some of them would be interested if they saw good tweets, so I will look out for them now.

there is nothing wrong in this entry, as well as the small banner "we are slothicorn" I feel proud of the appreciation. Thank you for everything

Without so adorable < 3 ... How not to Love slothicorn?

Great job making Steemit artsy!

sadly wading through the shit has become a regular occurrence recently whilst on the hunt for other artists to connect with. inevitable when there's money to be made i guess but still sad

nice i just use paint 3d i post music and create my covers

That's quite unfortunate, personally, I wouldn't say I am an artist but I am an admirer of good art. I also stand for originality. That's why I think that people should try to acknowledge the source of a post if it's not their own.

Thank you for posting about all of us @slothicorn, we're going to be great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63648.37
ETH 3125.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87