WATERCOLOR POLAROIDS | ARTIST AUTUMN TAG 2018 (PART 1)


Yes, you have read it correctly; this post will have a part two where I answer the questions on this year’s Artist Autumn Tag. I know that I already posted something that is autumn themed already but hey, I am in love with this season and its aesthetics so please, forgive me.

What I am doing now is an Autumn Tag. It is a very popular tag on YouTube wherein people answer questions related to autumn or that are autumn themed. If you happen to not know, a tag is a set of questions that are related to a certain topic.


MATERIALS

Watecolor
Watercolor paper
Pencil
Micropen
White gel pen
Ruler
Scissor


PROCEDURES

I: CUTTING AND LINING THE PAPERS

Since we are going to mimic a Polaroid, we have to line and cut all of our papers to look like one.


The first thing we have to do is to line our watercolor paper to match a Polaroid. The size that I followed is 4inches in height and 5 inches in width.

After all of these are lined, the next thing to do is to cut your paper according to the lines you drew.


We are going to proceed to lining our “Polaroid” to have that photo frame style. The measurements are 1inch on the top, left, and right side of the paper and 1 and a half inch on the bottom. (Sorry if my explanation is terrible. No worries, here’s a photo to guide you more.)


II: DRAFTING THE ILLUSTRATIONS

I will actually be doing 10 Polaroids because the tag has 10 questions but I will show you the process of only one Polaroid for this post so to have a little surprise moment haha. And as always, I start by drafting my illustrations lightly with Mechanical Pencil.


III: INKING THE ILLUSTRATIONS

The next thing we have to do is to ink our illustration with Micron Pen. I used the 08 for the initial inking and the 04 for the second layer. As you will see, I have this thing of inking my illustrations twice. I think it adds more personality to the illustration. This is how it would look like;


IV: ADDING PENCIL TEXTURES

I have always been attracted to the old school way of illustrations and that is why I decided to add pencil textures to my illustrations before painting over them. You can use your pencils for softer and more rustic look or you can use your waterproof ink pens for more bold textures. Make sure that you will use waterproof inks because we are going to paint over them.


V: PAINTING THE ILLUSTRATIONS

After all of these steps, we will proceed to my favorite part, adding watercolor to these Polaroid. Keep in mind that we are having autumn themed illustrations therefore our color palette must be filled with autumn colors as well.


Here is how it looks when it is painted.


…AND THAT IS IT!



If you want to see how all of my Polaroid looked like in the end, wait for the second part of this post. You are also welcome to follow these steps and if you did, post your photos on Facebook (tag @Loujae Creations) and on Instagram (tag @loujaecreations). I would love to see your Watercolor Polaroid. 

As always, thank you for taking your time to read my entry and I am hoping to have you on my next one.


You can also see me on these links:

Facebook Art Page:


https://www.facebook.com/loujaecreations/


Instagram:


https://www.instagram.com/loujaecreations/?hl=en


YouTube:


https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCI0cVcrNls29ndI0RBmcqVw?view_as=subscriber


DeviantArt:


https://www.deviantart.com/fenellasamson


Have a nice day and…

BE THE MAGIC THE WORLD NEEDS


~ Fenella Samson

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by supportph from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Looks really good! I like your style. :D Looking forward to see more of those!

Congratulations @loujae-creations! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @loujae-creations! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67