JOURNAL SPREAD | Hapee Birthdae Potterheads


July 31, J.K Rowling’s and Harry Potter’s birthday, is a very important date for all Potterheads. And of course, I will never let it pass without making something creative to celebrate it.

In this post, I will be talking about the elements of my journal spread and the creating process as well.

In order for this entry not to be messy, I will talk about the elements and the steps simultaneously.

MATERIALS:

Journal
Watercolor
Pencil
Colored pencil
Watercolor
Watercolor brushes
Micropen
Brown Pen
White gel pen
Number Stamp


STEPS:

DRAFTING THE LEFT SIDE OF THE SPREAD

As always, I start everything by drafting my spread with a pencil just to see where the element should be. Remember to always do your drafts lightly so that it will be not messy when you erase them afterwards.


This side of the spread is the J.K. Rowling side. I wrote a simple Happy Birthday calligraphy on top and wrote three of my favorite J.K. Rowling quotes…

“The stories we love best do live in us forever, so whatever you come by page or by the big screen, Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

“It is important to remember that we all have magic inside us”

“Rock bottom became the solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.”

I also illustrated the infamous pink cake made by Hagrid for Harry Potter’s 11 th birthday, stacks of books because J.K. loves to read and write books and of course a quill and ink because that’s how we write in the Potterverse.


INKING THE ILLUSTRATIONS AND QUOTES ON THE LEFT SIDE OF THE SPREAD


After I have decided the elements and positions of each I inked the illustrations with my Micropen, the writings with brown pens and also colored the calligraphy with colored pencil.


DRAFTING THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE JOURNAL SPREAD


The right side of the spread is dedicated to Harry Potter. Just like the left side, I started by drafting my design with light strokes of pencil.

The elements that I added to to this part of the spread are; calligraphy of the boy who lived which is the title for Harry Potter and a Harry Potter themed cake (I got the design by searching Harry Potter theme cake on Google and I got this design from Trefzger’s Bakery Confections in Cake by Erika Bridges)


INKING THE ILLUSTRATIONS ON THE RIGHT SIDE OF THE JOURNAL SPREAD


I then inked everything with Micropen and did some cross hatching on the parts where there will be shadows.


FINAL PAINTING AND DETAILS


To finish everything off, I painted the elements with watercolor, added some white gel pens for highlights and stamped 07 31 to indicate the date of their birthday.

THAT’S IT!

I really admire J.K. Rowling as an author and I have hopes of being somehow like her as an creator. Her imagination is so wide and I believed in my own magic because of her.

I know that this is another Harry Potter entry but what can I do, I am just a huge Potternerd! But I will post something not Harry Potter related next, I swear.

Thank you for reading this entry, I really appreciate any form of support.

You can also follow and support my other sites:

Facebook Art Page:
https://www.facebook.com/loujaecreations

Instagram:
https://www.instagram.com/loujaecreations

Youtube:
https://www.youtube.com/user/fenellopies

See you on my next post!


Be the magic the world needs
~ Fenella Samson

Sort:  
Hello.😊

Congratulations @loujae-creations your post has been featured at Best of PH Daily Featured Posts.

You may check the post here.😉


About @BestOfPH

We are a curation initiative that is driven to promote Filipino authors who
are producing quality and share-worthy contents on Steemit.


See Curation/Delegation Incentive Scheme here. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Follow our trail and vote for curated Pinoy authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @bestofph is an available trail to follow.

If you want to be part of the community, join us on Discord


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

really nice ! the elements are definitely potterverse feel! and such a good journal entry art to celebrate 31 July !! :D

Thank yo so much and I am glad you liked it ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56159.14
ETH 2370.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30