My Calligra-journey| How i fell in love with Calligraphy| Art Blog

in #slothicorn6 years ago

It all started December of last year (2017) back then I just recently resigned from call center, we all know how stressful and how mentally draining being a call center agent is. So after resigning, that hangover feeling of stress left hanging inside my soul, so i needed a medium to divert the stress to something else. Then there's this one photo on facebook that i came across, the photo was a calligraphy artwork, then i said to myself "hey this one is dope! i think i can do this if i just practice." So i started.

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-37-23-301_com.instagram.android.jpg
This was my very first attempt to calligraphy, it's very crappy i know but hey i was but a newbie and i am still learning up until now. I used a regular pencil to practice the strokes because i don't have money to buy those expensive writing tools, but that didn't stop me from practicing. Because writing was soooo stress relieving, it soothes the soul and made me feel like I'm an artist even though i'm not. lol.

Later on, i was able to buy one set of tools. It was Faber Castel, but instead of buying the brush pens I bought brush markers. At first i thought they're the same, but i was wrong. The brush marker i bought is not really a brush but only looked like a brush, it was so stiff that i was having struggles making thick and thin lines. But instead of throwing them away i still used them for practice, still a win win.

Here are two of the calligraphies i made using the brush markers i mentioned earlier.

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-37-11-958_com.instagram.android.jpg

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-37-34-514_com.instagram.android.jpg
These were the best pieces i made before, using those brush markers it made wiggly edges due to the struggle using it. But i was so proud about it because i felt like i was doing the right thing. Once again i felt like i was an artist, haha.

I then started to follow calligraphers on instagram like Cabincalligraphy, to inspire me more and to motivate me to practice more. I started watching youtube tutorials for more tips. While looking for tutorials i saw this "faux calligraphy" thing, i was curios and i watched it and tried and practiced it since it was still related to calligraphy and does not use a lot of tools. So from my perspective i would choose using the less expensive way since i am not fortunate to have loads of money. I want to invest in this calligraphy thing by buying proper tools, but how can i invest when i don't have anything on the first place, maybe sooner. haha.

Anyways, here are two of the faux calligraphy i tried to make upon learning the techniques.

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-37-49-147_com.instagram.android.jpg

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-40-51-033_com.instagram.android.jpg
Yes i know, they're crappy. But hey no starts off great, even the mightiest warriors were once a trainee. So i am a trainee in to becoming a warrior, with pens as my weapon. It was the technique i was focusing on, so i wasn't focusing on the letters yet.

After a lot of research, I've found out that one effective way to beautify my calligraphy more is the use of proper tools. Tombow brush pens were like the most known tool for modern calligraphy, but dang those brush pens were expensive as hell. I'm broke and I don't have the money to buy it. So i settled to a cheaper alternative, i used platinum brush pen in which can be bought individually since i'm on a tight budget. I also bought an artline stix marker, which is also cheaper than most.

Let me show you some works i've made using the aforementioned tools i bought.

IMG_20180317_104312.png

IMG_20180317_104336.png

IMG_20180317_104357.png

Screenshot_2018-03-24-04-37-59-555_com.instagram.android.jpg
They're just actually plain calligraphy but i have never felt any happier seeing that i am making progress, because from crappy letters, i was able to improve my writing and created a more polished letters than before. Fast or Slow, Forward is Forward.

Up until now i am still learning a lot, and i will forever learn. I'm still in the level of newbies because i still have limited knowledge. I will never stop learning calligraphy, it was my medium in my darkest hours and the outlet of my emotions. Aside from dancing, calligraphy was my stress reliever. It has been a long post, but i wish i was able to testify that practice pays off.

You can do what you want if you put your mind to it.

Truly yours,
Arvill

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

i'm sorry for using the tag hehehe but i already followed artzone just recently. looking forward to your great posts of various artists. thank you for reminding. :-)

You are talented Ohana!🌻

Congratulations! You’ve been featured to 92nd STEEMIT FAMILY PH DAILY FEATURED POST 🇵🇭

Thank you very much ohana. I am hoping to inspire calligraphy newbies just like me. That practice is the key. Thank again.

Hello my brother from the BPO industry!
Thank you for inspiring me to hasten my calligraphy developing skills. With this, I know how to acknowledge and give due credits to the ones who sparked this kind of art that I'll be doing in the future. I'll tag you on my future post when I do calligraphy.

Wow thank you brother, it's my pleasure to inspire you. But i am still a newbie so let's do our best to learn more in this calligraphy. And i know BPO is a very stressful work, calligraphy is a good medium in relieving stress. Lets progress and grow, hehe thank you again brother.

I will arvill. Thank you for responding.
Glad to start connecting with you.

I'm kinda having a break from cryptocurrencies at the moment and just finding my real niche where I can really focus my skills whether they are acquired or innate. Also trying to discover this recent thing haunting me if it's a gift from above or a very dangerous path to dig. I have seen that you upvoted for it just a few hours ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64166.71
ETH 2765.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72