When the unexpected happened... | The battle | An Art Process | Art Blog #2

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

2018-03-02 11.50.20 1.jpg


Who would've thought?

There will be times in our lives that unexpected things happen. When all we thought everything was doing well, unfortunately, the inevitable occurs. It may be something that will make us weak or get past it and succeed.

It was early February this year that one of my classmates from college is battling against lung cancer, stage 4. Yes! She is already in her last stage of cancer when the news came out but I never really thought of it because she appeared healthy. I was completely stupefied about how and when she was diagnosed. As a healthcare personnel and the class' vice president, I knew I had to do something about it. Consequently, I gathered all the members of my class except for her and we planned on what we can do to be of help for her financially as she was informed to undergo chemotherapy as soon as possible, aside from visiting her in the hospital.

Some of my classmates overseas sent money in and I made a You Caring account, it's like a Go Fund Me strategy where people from other countries can donate, linking her sister's Paypal account so they can directly get the cash and use it. While we were waiting for other donations, we considered doing a fundraising program by making T-shirts for sale. The proceeds will then be given to her family to support her expensive chemotherapy.

As a frustrated artist, I was requested by my dearest classmates to create a design to be printed on the shirts. I will show a step-by-step documentation on how I made it in one full day.

IMG_20180301_103921.jpg

Since it is a battle against lung cancer, I started off by drawing the human lung structure with a pencil. As you can see, I then decorated the right lung with different flowers which for me symbolizes how beautiful life is and how lovely it is to be alive.


IMG_20180301_114428.jpg

After filling the right lung with assorted florals, as a hand letterer, I decided to make use of positive words to uplift the fighting spirit of those people suffering from cancer like love, hope, motivate, survive, recovery and etc.

IMG_20180301_152605.jpg
This is the final draft before I traced it.


IMG_20180301_163312.jpg

After getting satisfied with my draft, I traced the pencil marks and detailed it using Uni Pin 0.1, 0.3 and 0.5 black pens.


received_10214459610780067.jpeg

This is the traced drawing after almost 10 hours of finalizing what to put in.


2018-03-02 11.50.20 1.jpg

After looking the traced design, I realized how dull it was. Putting color to my drawings is not really my forte but I tried anyway and this was the result. It didn't actually look bad and I was okay with it.

So this was the design I made for our classmate. Unfortunately, the one assigned to print the shirts told me that we can only use the one with no colors for easy printing and lesser cost of materials.

received_1955950247813818.jpeg

received_1955950244480485.jpeg

received_1955950241147152.jpeg

If you guys want to help us be part of our fundraising cause, you can comment below for orders and resteem to reach other people.

Much love,
Kayenine ❤

Sort:  

Nice art you have there. It reminds me of EDSA yung pag papunta ka ng pasay madami ka makikita neto :) Galing galing!

  • I nominated this post to be featured on the 71st edition of @steemitfamilyph Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts. Good luck and keep on steeming! :)

Hahaha. Thank you so much @itsjessamae. Can I call you ate? 😊

Sure! Hahaha. Dami na nag a ate sakin deito eh. Hahhaha

Boost Your Post. Send 0.100 STEEM or SBD and your post url on memo and we will resteem your post on 5000+ followers. check our account to see the follower count.

wow ! ayos kaayo te.. meaningful pajud kaayo kudos !

Thank you @jerikoponteras. Lablab. ❤

Another post to be featured napod ni te! 😊

Hahaha. Palabi napud na. 😂

Hello! I find your post valuable for the art community! Thanks for the great post! ARTzone is now following you! ALWAYs follow @artzone and the artzone tag, and support our artists!

I did @artzone and I love other artist's works too. It inspired me to create more.

This post has been featured on Daily Steemitfamilyph featured post #70
Congratulations!

WOAAAHHH! Thank you again ka-Ohana! This is my fourth time. 😍😍😍

this is a worthy read, plus the design!! uggghhh , i wish i had gifted hands like yours ate. hehehe.

Thank you @llivrazav! It takes time, practice and dedication. I'm still actually learning. :)

Congratulations @kyanzieuno! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

You have been upvoted by @slothicorn. Thanks for your contribution.

Thank you @slothicorn. I will contribute more the soonest. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60314.14
ETH 2890.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35