Rare cars #2: the Mgb connection

in #slothicorn6 years ago

Well well well.. things are getting more and more interesting.

While I was sketching this 1963 mgb

BCBDEBE1-C2F6-4B8E-BF5F-608003EAC706.jpeg

An old man with a hat came to my place, gave me his business card and he said:

“Call me tomorrow, I want you to draw in my private garage”

His name is Byron and he is running a non profit greek collection cars organization.

He stands as a man from another century, somewhere between the XIX and the early XX, extremely educated and with an iron passion with the collection cars.

I went to his garage, and I could not believe what I saw. The garage was as clean as a surgery room in a Swiss hospital. Then my eyes where attracted by this rare rare Maserati:

He is repairing it, making all the necessary pieces hand made with a 3D printer sometimes.

024412E2-5EF4-40CF-AF40-3CD259A27C90.jpeg

C796CD57-8C47-4E7B-A45E-A92B1A91C4EF.jpeg

Once repaired, this Maserati is going to be sold to Dutch car brokers, starting at a bidding price over a million dollars.

Today I have to return to Byron’s garage, I am sure that new surprises are waiting for me.

Stay tunned to this account and have fun!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Looks like he brought you to his treasure room ^_^.
                       
Tell us more about this adventure and certainly draw more cars :).

Thank you scrawly !

Oh man, a gorgeous car ! Very lovely drawing :D

And that old man's super passionate about his vehicles * ___ * that old maserati has such a beautiful body * ___ * Amazing garage!!!

Thank you @veryspider, curved sketching opens me the gates of incredible surprises. Keep on sketching!

Hey, @javier.dejuan.

First off, that's a real cool drawing of the 1963 MGB. Very nice. The car is retro and so is the art—it fits like a glove.

So, this guy just walks into your place? You must have a gallery or some kind of public shop, right? He must have known who you were, or referred to you by someone?

And then, holy cow, a rare Maserati? Must be from the late 50s early 60s? I've counted a few times now, but does that engine have 14 cylinders? If so, that's the most I've ever seen in a car. And it's pretty compact, so it's MPH must be well over 200.

Starting bid price over a million dollars. That's awesome. I can see why you love cars. That car is a work of art, even in a state of repair. :)

No gallery, nothing. I am an old school sketcher: just sit in front of the car, begin to sketch, and then I create an artistic mass density which makes art lovers gravitate around my sketch pad. It’s a physical pheonmenum. My white watercolors sheets are like bank notes waiting to be signed!

Can't beat that. :) I guess that means, @javier.dejuan, you'd better keeping sketching.

The man knows quality when he sees it and there you are!

Congratulations @javier.dejuan! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

So cool!!! How fortunate are you for this to have happened! Each day new treasures await! :) Enjoy!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82