My Art for Slothicorn’s Genesis Story

in #slothicorn7 years ago (edited)

This is my version of Slothicorn in her little cubicle, with the ball, bed and dream machine.


feb6slothicornthumbnail.jpg


Here is the full image version and the bit of the story I am illustrating.

Every day at her job, she sits in a cubicle and is hooked up to a helmet which extracts her dream energy. She also has an exercise bike, a spinning ball and a small bed in her cubicle. She is free to do any activity, as long as she is alone and producing dreams for the collection boxes. She is not allowed to use her smartphone or talk to anyone though.

feb6slothicorn.jpg

I thought this would be a fun contest to enter, because I love animals and really like doing little sketches and then inking and watercolouring them digitally.

I'm still not sure if Slothicorn is herself meant to be part unicorn, so luckily any horn would be covered by my version of her 'dream extracting helmet. I figured in her dreams there would oft appear an actual unicorn thus I chose to represent that little fella in her pinky cloud dreams.

I know the ball is probably meant to be an exercise ball, but for the colour story I really wanted a colourful beach ball. I figured it would supply her with the colourful segway into her obviously much valued dreams (I mean they are taking them from her as her job, so they must be valuable, right?)

This was a totally fun contest and a great break in my day of working on my larger more involved digital oil pieces.


This is the creative commons thing I believe I am meant to put here to share this piece. (still really learning about that.)
creativecommons.png

This contest is thanks to @slothicorn and the contest, which runs until 14 February, Can be accessed here so why not join in the fun!

If you appreciate my work please feel free to upvote, resteem, and by all means comment.


asteemitfooter.jpg

Sort:  

this is fantastic, and you have channeled my vision. Thank you for this.

OH good. I was going to do something more graphic but thought with the story I'd like to see it more water colour illustrative. I might do a few more, is it ok to add a few more or is there a limit?

It is full of fantasy! That helmet looks very funny and i wonder how it works :)))

The principals of dream extraction are quite involved but let's say it works on the quantum level and makes a whirring sound like an old fashioned malt blender. :)

Like it ! but what is the idea of the drawing ? I really want to know

Me too, I really don't fully understand #slothicorn yet, but you can check out their link if you like.

OMG!! I love unicorn.. It´s so pretty!! Beauty pic..

It is very creative drawing.So intelligent work.You have possible to express special something in your art.I appreciate your art.
Thanks a lot.Carry on your activity

Good 👍

Vote me and follow me

Stop telling me what to do, you're not my mother :)

This is great! I love the way you did the coloring. I like how it stays loose under the fine black linework.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 66431.89
ETH 2569.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65