Ork Hulk (Game 1) Turn 4

in #slothicorn6 years ago (edited)

Time for a BBQ?

This is a complex game, and while any new players are totally allowed to drop in at any point, we ask that you read the rules before deciding to play.

Game ends when a player picks up the Steem:

  • 2 Steem to the player that collects the Steem icon.
  • 2 Steem to the player with the most kills at the end of the game.


Hurr hurr hurr, dose udder boyz got kicked gud!
Lets get dem big gunz and find dat STEEM!


Last turn

Players > Enemies!
@urbangladiator, @happyme and @pbock all dispatched the knifey orks with their sluggas. No enemies survived that had a line of sight on the players, so no enemy moves last turn. Kill counts for all 3 have increased... the fight for the prize for Most Kills is heating up.
image.png
All images in this post can be clicked on for a bigger version

Quick Summary of rules relevant to this turn:

  • Players can move 5 squares in a turn.
  • Players can not occupy the same square as an enemy or another player.
  • Players can also choose to shoot or charge into hand to hand combat. A charging player moves 6 squares and gets a +1 to wound.
  • Players that charge an enemy already in hand to hand combat get a +1 to their roll for being an Additional Combatant.
  • Players can flee from close combat, but must roll a 4+. On a roll of 1, 2 or 3 they suffer a wound to represent being hit when their back was turned.
  • Players can find weapons or armour and pick them up by moving onto that square. Players can choose to pick up the new weapon or keep their current weapon.
  • Players will always keep their knife.
  • Players must stop on that square to pick up the new weapon... but can use it immediately.
  • Enemies have 1 wound.
  • Enemies will only move towards Players in their line of sight.
  • There is no friendly fire.

Turns

  • Players move first. Enemies move after all players have completed their actions.
  • Players will have 24 hours to list their actions in the comments.
  • Move turns are based on which players comment first.
  • After 24 hours the enemies will take their actions

Weapons

NameMeleeRangeRoll to woundSpecial rules
KnifeYes1 square6+
SluggaYes3 squares5+Two shots
ShootaNo6 squares5+Two handed. Two shots
Big ShootaNo12 squares3+4 shots. Move or shoot
BurnaYes3 squaresAutoHits all enemies in range
Power KlawYes1 square3+
Frag GrenadeNo4-8 squares5+9 square AOE

Grenades must be thrown a minimum of 4 squares so they don't wound the player.

Protocol

  • Players must comment their actions. @daclawboyz will either roll on their behalf and work out the results or they can use the @rollthedice bot.

Here is the full game board:
image.png

Please do continue to ask questions as you see fit...
KICK DEM BOYZ!!!

UPDATE 1: Everyone's scattering:

The Burna Boyz haven't noticed the players yet... so no enemy ork movement this turn.


All images on this page have been created by @daclawboyz for Ork Hulk.
Thanks for playing!


U5drNXWtcqMQ47bzqw8Tmkq2oQu8vqo_1680x8400.jpg

Sort:  

Sweet, I'm super down to try this out! Add me in. :)

YES!!!!!

Shake shake shake, you roll the 6-sided die.

You rolled a 6.

Hurr hurr hurr, wot a waste!

Move West 5 squares.

I'm going to put my plan into action !

It's Big Boom time (...in ~3 turns).

Make that 3 1/5 turns... darn

Hahaha, isn't it always the way....

Non duagonal moves plan will take at least 5 turns to do darnit 😅

But the end result... Oh the glory 😍

Hi everyone... I had in the original rules that players and enemies couldn't move diagonally because I thought that might be too confusing if we had a ton of players... but now it seems like a silly and unnecessarily restriction.

I'm loath to change a fairly fundamental rule in the middle of the game... but if you're all cool with allowing diagonal movement (or didn't realise it wasn't allowed) please let me know and I'll change the rules.

Moving diagonally will mean that 2 regular moves COULD be accomplished with ONE diagonal move, thus if conditions permit, a move of 5 diagonally could be 10 normal moves! Are you sure you would want that?

Ahhhh.... good point... no I didn't intend for that at all.
I've been thinking about this all day, diagonal movement also negates some of the strategy behind sticking on a corner out of line-of-sight.

I was trying to find a balance between Warhammer 40K which uses literal tape-measures for movement, and Space Hulk which uses Action Points which seems annoying. I've basically researched HeroQuest and SpaceCrusade (which is quite similar to this actually) and they don't allow diagonal movement.

Alright... I'm glad we had this chat. No diagonal movement! Thanks so much @happyme.... running games is tough!

YES, running games is not as easy as one would think! I've often wondered if I would be better off writing articles than running games and contests. The games take a lot of time and effort and seem to get very little reward compared to what I see others getting for their articles or for some code work or art.

I enjoy being able to hand out decent votes and would love to increase what I'm able to give those who participate on my blog, but it is taking a long time to grow my account.

I keep looking for ways to buy Steem directly to increase my VP but it is still so convoluted. I have to buy either bitcoin or etherium and trade that for steem. I could end up taking a hit on each trade as well as paying the commission, so I'm still waiting for a way to purchase steem directly. In the meantime, our little band of players support each other as a gaming community and we all grow slowly together.

It's also hard writing articles and creating art. I think the main way to succeed right now is to know a powerful whale who'll look after you... but the way to succeed in the future is to make friends and all grow as a unit. The landscape will look very different this time next year and I like to think that every day we're building the skills and relationships to position us well.

I'm enjoying this experience... I think once I've got the rules play-tested and nailed down it'll be less stressful. I really just want everyone to have fun and I really like our little core group of players here.

Having a whale friend will always help.

It's all good experience. It's kind of fun because you are also creating something that will be enjoyed by many.

I'm surprised pbock went West. I figured the big shoota was his. I prefer the Burna, but that's already taken, so I guess I will go for the Big Shoota next turn. I take it that that weapon allows 4 shots per turn, but no movement before shooting? What does it mean about the Shoota being 2-handed? Must drop the knife?

Pbock has a plan to grenade all the orks. It'll be interesting to see what happens.

No, the knife always stays with you forever. You'll have to pocket the slugga to use the shoota, big shoota or burna since they're two handed weapons... the powerclaw is one handed so you can have the slugga and powerclaw together.

So if you pick up the shoota or big shoota you'll only have a 6+ for melee (to represent both hands being used on the gun, maybe attaching the knife) so don't let them get too close...

With 4 shots per turn (unless you move) I assume you'll take down everything in sight.

Oh boy... If my plan works out its gonna be a red red Christmas for those gun wielders to the south ☺

It's gonna take me 3 turns at least to kill another Ork though, then a single turn more after that one dies to kill 3 😈

As long as that Ork in the shadows us alone, of course.

If it's got 5 teammates just behind it... I'll be toast 😅

Darn, missed that rule 😅

Luckily, I've got a back up plan that only uses non duagonal moves hehe 😈

Hahahaha, Plan A is only as good as Plans B, C, D, etc etc.

Ok, so I am going to move East five moves now.

I am going to be AFK for the next two days, can you please do my turns for me in the meanwhile @daclawboyz ?

My overall plan is to grab the Shoota, and shoot at the orks with Burna's. Then if they approach me or come close, I can switch back to the slugga for melee prowess. I will perform shooting over charging, and will move backwards if they approach in order to keep my distance from charges or flamethrowers.

Of course, I'd be happy to.
It won't be as fun without you, but I'll try and keep you alive.

Unfortunately you'll have to discard your slugga for the shoota... but you'll always have your handy combat knife! Looks like the others will have big guns to make sure no one comes anywhere near you.

I move 4 East and 1 South please.

For the frag grenade, is it one roll per enemy or 1 single roll ?

Also, why do you keep saying 6+, when we're only using a single dice ? 😛

Hahahaha, super bad habit I guess.

With all the potential for modifiers and saying things like 6+ on 2D6 or 6+ on D20, I guess I just never stopped... but you're right, it's super confusing.

Anywho... It's one roll per enemy... so if you hit 9 enemies, you'd hopefully kill 3 or 4 instead of an all or nothing approach.

K. I hope my approach will murder all of em 😈

yo, I probably won't have Wifi by the time the next post is put up, so my movement will be 5 West, if it's not too much of a problem for you to do it for me.

Thanks !

Ah sorry... I got caught up on yet another Steem project. I will absolutely move for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66