Today My Little Girl Came Out To Play - My Entry For Steemit Slam #2

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

today

My little girl came out today
And she wanted to be hugged
And she wanted to play.

As she sat with legs
Folded under
With her chin in hand

She looked curiously as can be
And asked “watcha doing?"
"Can you stop and play with me?”

today
art by luvthatart

“Can we polish our nails and toes?”
"Make my face pretty like yours."
My little girl browsed through
My many bottles of perfume,
With a sniff and a smile she had made her choice.

today
Artist Debra Cartwright

“Can you make my hair pretty with ribbons and bows?"
"Can we play dress up in our nicest clothes?"
"Can we have tea on the balcony?"
"Cuz the birds and the butterflies I want to see."

It had been a delightful day of pretend and play
We danced and sang all dressed up
Eating Pizza for dinner and Ice Cream in a cup.

With nothing left to do, we danced to our room
Falling across the bed, and for just a moment
Our imagination and dreams took over as we stared at the moon.

Suddenly my little Girl sat up and gave me a hug and the sweetest look.
As she stretched and yawned, she said "its bedtime please read my favorite book."
As the story ended my little girl closed her eyes and drifted back to the land of innocence and rainbow butterflies…..
today
Google Images

1st Art/Image above by Dora Alis
Poem by RenSoul17

Sort:  

Nice post. Followed you. Please follow me.

Thank You for following @withsmn

Sweetness overload... Awww....

Loved reading this :)

Thank you for taking the time to read my poem @symbiose. All the replies means a lot.

That is a very lovely poem. I hope to share the land of rainbow butterflies with my daughters too.

Yeah!! that's beautiful to hear @hopehuggs. I am glad you read and liked my poem and I hope your daughters will also. Thank you.

The inner child that this poem speaks to is so important... you captured the magical excitement of youth here! When there seemed to be infinite time to explore and play & the preoccupations of adults seemed so silly. The childlike nature that is in touch with the rhythms of life to the point that everything happens in its perfect timing... the inner child that is not scared to be fully vulnerable, present and genuine at all times. It's a beautiful piece; Thank you for sharing @rensoul17

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.45
ETH 3566.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11