The Darkest Shade Of Blue - Leaving: [Steemit Slam 1]steemCreated with Sketch.

in #slam7 years ago (edited)

THE RED BALLOON (DARKEST SHADE OF BLUE).jpg

This is my entry for the Steemit Slam #1. The theme is LEAVING, and this poem is one I wrote seconds after my love, my ex girlfriend told me she is leaving me. This is a very personal poem to me and I wish to share it with all of you! Good luck to anyone also taking part in this competition and I hope you enjoy this poem. (If you are taking part in this Slam too, feel free to comment the link to your post so I can have a look and enjoy reading it!) :)


something just happened.
the red balloon just turned into the darkest shade of blue.
infected my whole body like a virus or a flu.
it just flew right across my face, and i don't understand,
why love has gotta hurt so much when they let go of your hand.
even though she said that she'll think and that she's feeling bad,
that's still no reconciliation for my feels of sad.
i feel so out of touch with life, and it's not looking good,
cause i invested all my happiness in her and should,
have left some for me and these days where i be feeling blue
because of one red balloon that i thought i knew.
i thought i knew her well, but i guess i was just mistaken.
i want her to be real when around me and not faking.
this split in personalities affects me very badly.
and i am on her worse side where no love is found, sadly.

Sort:  

I can relate to this poem, in fact the last thing I wrote is addressing a similar scenario. It has been a long time, but it's one of those things that is so powerful that you never forget. I like the fact that you are lucidly considering the whole situation and what seemed to go wrong. I wish you all the best in your healing process and I thank you for sharing :) I found the symbol of the red balloon quite striking within this piece.

Thank you so much for this comment! It put a smile on my face :) The healing process is long gone, as I am happily in a new relationship for some time now, and only posted this for the Slam. (Despite it being an odd topic now, my ex, I still love this poem and the emotions it encompasses) And once again, thank you! The red balloon is a symbol I use quite often throughout my poetry :)

I love the red balloon symbol too.. It's as though she brought so much brightness and color into your life.. and now .. you are just stripped of it , and blue;(
I hope you are very much mending- & Thank You so much for recommending my poetry too !

Thank you so much! Indeed that is true, great interpretation! :) The blueness, the melancholia, the depression - all of these things took over my life for a good bit, but thankfully were quickly diminished by a love much stronger; my new girlfriend!

You're welcome! I really enjoy it :)

Oh I am glad that it had a happy ending :)
Everything really does happen for a reason!! & I love the image of the ballon- I actually keep thinking of (IT) for some reason ;/
Following now to keep an eye out for future posts :)

:) Yes! Im thankful for the experience as it led me to where I am now:) Thank you!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49