Steemit Slam #1 - Poem Entry: Moment Of Truth

in #slam7 years ago

Hello Fellow Steemit Followers and Peeps,

This is my Entry for Steemit Slam #1 - Theme: Leaving

The following poem I wrote for my grandmother after she passed away. I hold her memory dear to my heart and still think about her as if it was just yesterday we were playing out back in the creek. There is never a day that goes by in which I do not find myself thinking about her. She played a big part in who I am today and I hope that when she looks down me from heaven she is smiling with pride that I am her grandchild. The photo below is a picture of us kids and my grandmother. Do enjoy my Fellow Steemit Followers

FB_IMG_1499129058027.jpg
Photo Taken By Unknown

Moment Of truth

You had words of kindness and wisdom

That could fill the emptiest holes

Inside this beating heart of mine.

Wanting nothing more but to turn back

Time to the days of playing in the creek and

Feeding the pigs.

Your smile could light up fires

Like the rolling of domino’s, leaving only

Happy faces on those who were touched by

Your presents in their lives.

Stepping back now, all I wish

for is the moment I should have

shared with you.

Remembering all the great memories

that I was granted, but missing and

hating the fact that I was never able

to tell you face to face That I was gay.

Sitting here now I regret never having

the time or means To come to you and tell

you my story before it was too late.

Holding your picture close to my heart

with memories weaving their Way into my head,

grandma Clegg I miss you And I’m sorry I

waited until it was too late.

But here and now, this is my way of having

A moment of truth's with you that should have

Happened sooner.

Looking to the sky I know you’re

Hearing me now, my final words to you are

I LOVE YOU!

By Kelly Clegg

04/08/13 5:28pm

Sort:  

Beautiful! I know she hears you loud and clear from where she is now! Thank you for participating!

Thank you @poetrytrail!!
And thanks for having me here for your first steemit slam;))

Liked and followed :)

Thank you:))

This was good sis.

Thank you;)) Took A lot!!

Beautiful, there is such a heartache to everything that gets left unsaid. Best of luck in the contest.

That there truly is, but something tells me she knew before I did and that helps ease the hurt a little bit. Thank you @bleedpoet for your kinda and sweet words. In a poets world; words are everything. Oh and of course thank you for the luck. I feel I will need it. There are some amazing writers out there on steemit and I am just glad to see someone trying to bring them all together.:)))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62629.89
ETH 2572.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74