Skyrim Special Edition - Thoughts

in #skyrim8 years ago

Skyrim Special Edition

I have to say I was relatively disappointing after playing. After first hearing about the special edition I was super excited that Skyrim was being remastered because who wouldn't be, it is after all just a better version of something that is already amazing.

For those who haven't played Skyrim, it is one of the best game out there, and for those who have I hope you can understand my frustration.

So where to start;

What's bad?

First thing first I don't like that fact that you have to start a completely new save as the intro to the game is so, so long and i know you can get a mod to skip the intro but then you still have to go through the first few missions that aren't needed if you have played the game before.

I think for what is mostly a visual update it has taken way to long, in 6 days the game will have been out for 5 years. I would have thought that as Skyrim is so popular after this amount of time more effort would have been put in to bring the graphics up to par, as there is a lot of recent releases with considerably better graphics.

As you can see the remastered really isn't that big of a change and for PC there is mods that are arguably better than the remastered in some ways.

I would have also liked to see something like another dlc added to the game, it does add the original dlc, however a lot of players will have already played them because they have been out for years. I also think if not a new dlc they should have at least added some new weapons and armor.

For Xbox one and PS4 users there really isn't that much space for mods especially on PS4.

Overall the main point I'm trying to make is that I don't think think they added nearly enough to warrant this being more than a glorified update. With the price tag of £30+ you would think there would be more added as that's nearly as much as completely new games cost.

What's good?

An update to Skyrim as I said was very needed so at least something was done with the visuals and i like the fact that they did tie the dlc into the game.

With the new addition it is vastly easier to add mods to the game, for console and PC and there is some amazing mods out there.

Skyrim is undoubtedly an amazing game that is incredibly immersive and it is one of those games you can just play and play without getting bored, because there is just so much content in the game and a crazy amount of side quests. I think that the special edition just helps to bring people back to the game and remember how much fun it can be.

I also think it is nice to show that the creators are thankful to their player base, and they showed this by giving the game out for free to players on PC who already had the dlc. I personally don't think I would have bothered buying the game as I have the game and dlc so there would be no point in buying the game essentially twice.

What's next:

I think its time we need a new story and a new Elder Scrolls game, however from what i have seen it doesn't look like the 6th elder scrolls game is coming any time soon, we are really looking at getting it in 2019 if we're lucky.

Maybe the best option for big fans who still want to play games in the series is the Elder Scrolls online, I know when it first came out it was a big disappointment and lacking in a lot of areas. However more recently there has been some bug updates and I have heard that the games is miles better than it was on release.

Sort:  

Skyrim is awesome , I love this game .

Ye Skyrim is one of my favorite games.

Nice article!
Good work :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61251.21
ETH 2951.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52