Skype is getting extended with a useful function - Live (real-time) subtitles during calls

in #skype5 years ago

The currently introducing fuction is getting in the program with the occasion of the international day of disabled persons.

We can turn on real time subtitles for calls in the newest version of Skype - This is how Microsoft is "celebrating" the international day of disabled persons. The new service is primarily helping people, who can barely able to hear or not able to hear at all, but it is also good to better understand our parner's speaking in noisier environment.

Skype-captions.png
Image source: https://mspoweruser.com.

The subtitles can work both with group and with two pesons speaking, and if it is necessary, we can set it to default in the settings menu, otherwise we can activate it by clicking on the + sign, and selecting the proper option. If this is not appearing to someone, do not worry, it can take a few weeks until the necessary update is arrive to everyone. Currently anyway the subtitles are running in the window of the video continuously, almost as the automaticly generated YouTube subtitles, but the developers are also thinking about an own window, which will be scrollable too.

Skype-Captions-Einstellungen.jpg
Image source: https://i0.wp.com.

New:
If you can't (unable to or don't want to) comment this blog post on Steemit/Busy or on any other Steem blockchain interface due to the low amount of RC (Resource Credits), you can comment this blog post on my external blog:
Skype is getting extended with a useful function - Live (real-time) subtitles during calls.

Thank you for reading!
Have a nice day!

Sort:  

So now we can read ourselves saying "Can you hear me now?"

I know that you are (probably mostly) joking, but I have read people talking about many techical problems with Skype nowadays, although I am not using Skype nowadays.
I just noticed the new feature and the fact that it is being implemented on the occasion of the international day of disabled people, that is all.

I am also disabled, but luckily I don't have any problems with my ears. I have other disabilities.
Yes, sadly I have multiple disabilities.
The one related to this thing is probably that I am visually impaired.

The last time I used Skype for calls (many years ago), I didn't experienced any problems with it.
Or at least I currently don't remember any.
Maybe a little bit of audio distortion/minimal lagging, I don't know.
Unline Facebook Messenger, where I have connection problems, such as lagging audio or even troubles/problems after accepting/accepted calls, for example not hearing each other at all in the conversation. I experienced this multiple times with Facebook Messenger.

Nowadays I don't use neither Skype nor Facebook Messenger for voice or video calls.
Nowadays I prefer phone voice calls or text messages on Facebook.
Phone calls may (and sometimes do) also have audio lags distored audio problems, becuase I (and most of the people I speak with) live on the countryside, where the signal strength may be low.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Xplosive from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Nagyjából az utóbbi tíz évben nem is használtam a szkájpot, annyira gagyi lett :(

Én is jó néhány éve használtam utoljára. Napjainkban nem használom.
Csak észrevettem az új funkciót és azt a tényt, hogy az a fogyatékos emberek világnapja alkalmával kerül bele a programba.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63