Acne-free Skincare Regime! Tips & Tricks!

in #skincare7 years ago

Hello there! I thought it would be fun to show whoever is reading my very simple skincare routine. It wasn’t always this simple, I struggled with serious acne for most of my teenage years so i do not take my clear skin now for granted.
What I look for in my skincare routine is a cleanser that leaves me face feeling smooth and lit from with, a moisturiser that is anti-ageing and an exfoliator that will get rid of any black heads or bumps or or around my nose and chin. I’m very blessed to have clear skin now as I never thought i would. If anyone would like to know some tips of clearing acne or hear my story let me know in the comments! :)
In this post I’m going to show you the products that I use as well as some great alternatives that I sometimes switch between. I’ll also list some other products I use for makeup removal and toning.

IMG_4468.JPG

Makeup Removal
I only do this step when I have heavy, long-wearing makeup on. I use an oil-based cleaner to remove any eye makeup and lipstick. Oil is a great makeup remover as it dissolves the makeup effortlessness and can be then washed off with water.
For my face I’ll use a makeup wipe. I find makeup wipes too weak to remove heavy eye makeup, mascara or lip stick, but it removed base makeup just fine. My best makeup removers are the Palmers Ultra Gentle Facial Cleansing Oil and the Elizabeth Arden All Gone Lip and Eye Makeup Remover

Cleanser
Gel cleansers or water-based cleansers are my favourite type to wash my face. I find the formulation to remove any excess makeup leftover but not leave a film on my face which is the worst. I don’t like cream cleansers as they don’t remove my makeup well enough on the everyday and I can find them to be too moisturising. Gel and water cleansers leave my face feeling naturally fresh and totally clean, free from all residue. My favourite cleanser is the Neutrogena Water Gel Cleanser, but I’m currently using the Sukin Foaming Facial Cleanser. If you’re in Australia, CROP Gentle Facial Cleansing Gel is a dream on all skin types.

Exfoliate
My skin is very prone to bumpy spots due to congestion in my skin. So, I need a rough exfoliator to literally sandpaper my dead skin away to give me a completely smooth surface. My skin can take a beating on the daily so I prefer really grainy scrubs. But finding a graining scrub that doesn’t burn, smell bad or leave residue on my face can be tricky. The scrub I am currently using is the Garnier Pure Active Intensive Charcoal 3-in-1. I can use this daily without irritation but it may not be for everybody as it has salicylic acid in it. Another great alternative that I fell in love with was the Benzac Blackheads Facial Scrub. If you have more sensitive skin, the Neutrogena Naturals Face Scrub as well as the Sukin Supergreens Facial Exfoliator are brilliant.

Tone
I will only tone my face when I am having problem with it, such as too oily, large pores or having any texture forming. I prefer to use a non-alcoholic toner which is very gentle on my face so I dont get any nasty reactions. I also use the same toner to prep my eyelids for makeup - so alcohol-free is completely necessary. Witch Hazel is an amazing facial toner, once you get used to the smell, but I find it to be irritating around the eyes. The toner I’m currently using is The Body Shop Seaweed Toner.

Moisturise
Moisturising is a crucial step in any skincare routine, no matter what your skin type. There is a moisturiser out there for everybody you just need to choose wisely based on your skin type. For the past months I’ve been opting out regular moisturiser for Rosehip oil. My goal was to reduce acne scars on my cheeks and increase my skins collagen. I apply the rosehip oil twice a day, morning and night. I haven’t found the results I was looking for with only using the oil so I may try combining both rosehip oil and my favourite moisturiser. I use Sukin Rosehip Oil, Sukin Sensitive Skin Moisturiser and sometimes use Cetaphil Lotion

Mask
I rarely use face masks, I’ll mostly only use them when I’m feeling bougie or my skin really really needs help. I prefer to make my own DIY face mask using tumeric, greek yoghurt and sometimes honey. I apply this all over my face and leave it for 10 minutes. But be careful, the numeric can stain ANYTHING, including your skin. So try and keep drying time to a minimum and use more yogurt than tumeric. If anyone wants a more in-depth recipe for this mask let me know and I’ll post it!

And there you have it! I like to keep my skincare routine very simple, I don't use eye cream or serums, just the essentials. I hope you found this helpful and hopefully discovered some tips and tricks! Seeya next time!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36