Sketchy Memories Contest - Entry #1: Cart Riding in Wali WorldsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #sketchymemories5 years ago (edited)

Let me tell you about this pretty cool contest that I came upon. It was created by @abitcoinskeptic. I love the idea of this contest, because it gives you a chance to look back at some of your fondest memories that you may have forgotten. Sometimes we get so caught up in our busy lives that we forget to just pause for a moment to relax and enjoy life. The purpose of this crazy cool contest is to take the time to go through your old photos, earliest is around 6 months and later, and recall some awesome memories that you may have forgotten with a fun, weird, or goofy story attached to it. Share your nostalgic photo along with a nice description of your fun-filled #sketchymemories. You are not limited to just old photos, but old journal entries and old internet bookmarks are included. Check out the link below for more info :)

Here's the link for the Sketchy Memories Contest

https://steemit.com/sketchymemories/@abitcoinskeptic/the-great-chinese-wall-and-my-sketchy-memories-contest

Here’s my #sketchymemories

I had lived a very by the book kind of life. I went to school with the same people from Pre-K to 12th grade. When I was looking for colleges, my junior year of high school, I initially wanted to stay close to home, but I was encouraged by close teachers to try to venture away from what was comfortable. Fortunately I was accepted to a University that was not too far from home, but was just the right amount of driving distance that I was able to be independent from my family.

I was in college from 2004-2008. During that time, I was able to live more freely than I had even been. I had a very strict upbringing with a very close family. I am incredibly grateful and blessed for what my parents and family provided for me growing up, but there were limitations. I'm thankful for those strict rules as a child, but I had to find my way as a young adult. Essentially that safe bubble had to burst at some point.

College was probably one of the best times in my life. Some people say high school was their best years, but I honestly have to say that it was my college years. Since I had this newly found freedom, all doors and possibilities were open for the first time in my life. This leads us to my #sketchymemories.

With this newly gained freedom, I was able to do things without supervision or permission. It was exhilarating. No, this is not a story of a crazed wild child, but I was able to do silly things that I had not before. I am short Asian lady who is open to any if not most experiences. This has led me to what happened in this photo. This was taken on Sept. 2006 with my first ever flip cell phone. Back in the day this technology was pretty awesome.....a camera on your phone and the ability to share the photo.....What?!?!? You can tell by the quality of the photo that this was early cell phone tech. Either way this old "timey wimey" (Dr Who David Tennant reference) technology gave me the ability to capture some almost forgotten, but tons of fun memories.

Going back.....since I was a short lady...and still am...I pretty much could fit almost anywhere. Yes, I know what your thinking....did I take it upon myself to challenge my own self to fit in certain small spaces....the answer to that is a BIG solid......Heck YEAH!!! I sure did! Why? Well why not, lol. I was in college and I was free. Sooooo.......this has led me to the photo below.....I was with 2 of my besties and we were in Wali World aka Wal-Mart. I opted to sit in the cart. If a child could, why not myself. I'm literally shaking my head and laughing. Clearly from the photo, we can all see that I did fit in a standard grocery cart. Which by the way was surprisingly not that uncomfortable, lol :D Let me tell you....getting in is easy, but getting out was definitely a challenge. I spent probably a good amount of time in that cart as we went shopping at Wali World. We definitely had a good time back then.

I almost forgot about that photo till I was searching my old photo archives. I no longer partake in cart riding as I go grocery shopping...now that I'm a full fledged responsible adult (chuckling), but when I look at these photos it brings a huge smile to my face. "I believe that youth is spent well on the young...'Cause wisdom in your teens would be a lot less fun" - Luke Bryan. When I hear that part of the song, "Most People Are Good", I can't help but laugh and reminisce about the care free days of college. I still have fun here and there, but not quite as much. Of course my definition of a Saturday night is staying in, watching hulu, netlifx, youtube, and cozying up with my hubby on the couch.

As always, Thank you to my fellow Steemians for taking the time to read, maybe upvote and possibly re-steem the post
;)
You guys rock!

<3 Shari-loveurlife <3 Healhy Living - Happy Life <3

Wow! This will be 13 years ago this Sept. :D

Sort:  

Lools like you had so much fun. Thank you for joining my contest and lutting in sincere effort. I really like that picture. Usually when Insee anyone above 4 years old in a shopping cart I get confused. Haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87