Sketching Kuching : KLSketchnation meets Kuching Urbansketchers [timelapse video]

in #sketchnation6 years ago (edited)

composed.jpg

I always travel to meet people. And the bond that connects me with these people are sketches. Like i mentioned in my earlier posts, I am connected to the global network of urbansketchers through my engagement with them in 2016 co-hosting the World Sketching Symposium in Manchester. My last trip connecting with other locality of urbansketchers was in Sydney; you can read it through this post - https://steemit.com/steem-cartoon/@kymio/travel-urbansketching-sketching-sydney


Manchester Symposium 2016 : Behind me are more than 500 urbansketchers from 44 countries all over the world. :)


Meeting Urbansketchers KUCHING.

Kuching is the capital city of Sarawak, a state located in Borneo, East Malaysia in which posses a rich multicultural vibes especially their unique natives clans. The leader of the group, Peggy Wong is also part of the main Urbansketchers community (Urbansketcher.org) who i met first in the Manchester Symposium back in 2016.

Screen Shot 2018-04-10 at 1.47.30 AM.png

I was so lucky happens that my trip to Kuching for my best friend's wedding coincidentally happens in the first weekends of the month where USK Kuching have their usual monthly sketchwalk on the first Sunday of every month. The wedding was on Friday and Saturday so i purposely took the later flight on Sunday to spend the day with them.

After checking out from the hotel at noon i took a stroll around the city centre which is not that big, and have a sit at the riverside to have some drinks and a 'warm up sketch'. :D

Photo 01-04-2018, 1 12 32 pm.jpg

It was breezy, and the slow pace of the city is so calming as i have to compare it with the busy Kuala Lumpur i left for that weekends. Had some chat with a local guy preparing to open their stalls for the evening while he seems so interested with my drawing.

Photo 01-04-2018, 1 25 42 pm.jpg
Finished drawing on my Moleskine Watercolour Sketchbook.

After the sketch i want to the Chinese History Museum area to meet the sketchers.

Photo 01-04-2018, 3 28 34 pm.jpg

When i arrive, there was already some of them started sketching. So we had some chat and went to find some sketching spots with Peggy and start sketching. I took my time sketching the details while catching up with Peggy. One of the most enjoyable time for me is to have interesting conversation while sketching and Peggy, being an experienced sketchers dont mind at all to talk while sketching.

After almost an hour, i finished sketching the basic drawing and still contemplating wether to paint colours on it or not...

Photo 01-04-2018, 2 54 56 pm.jpg

There was still time before its time for the show and tell so i decided to add in some colours. While finishing my drawing Peggy told me to continue drawing while she went across the road to get some 'Ice Kacang' at one of the famous street food stall there.

Photo 01-04-2018, 4 22 42 pm.jpg

and she got me one too!

Photo 01-04-2018, 3 23 38 pm.jpg

Nothing beats the ice cold ice kacang on the perfect sunny day!

Photo 01-04-2018, 3 26 12 pm.jpg

...and voila! my drawing was done. :)

Then we had our customary show and tell where everyone will lay down their drawings together to be appreciated and to take photos.

Photo 01-04-2018, 4 10 05 pm.jpg

and get my 'eyes in the sky'...snap! :)

29665593_10155054108647574_430935579841285921_o.jpg

The photo session concludes the sketchwalk session but as usual we will proceeds to the 'after sketchwalk session' where we gathered at a local bar for some drinks and chips. but sketchers being sketchers, we just couldnt stop sketching even at the bar because they offer an irresistible view from where we sat. :)

Photo 01-04-2018, 4 42 36 pm.jpg

Photo 01-04-2018, 4 27 23 pm.jpg

And so me too, would'nt pass this chance. :)

Photo 01-04-2018, 5 25 25 pm.jpg

After bidding goodbye, i finally went back to my hotel to get my luggage and head to the airport.

The perfect weather, the calming environment, the friendly people, awesome new friends, the stunning views and the great foods. i couldnt ask for more. It was definitely a memorable session. :)

Photo 01-04-2018, 9 33 15 pm.jpg

selfportrait.gif

Sort:  

You have a minor misspelling in the following sentence:

was so lucky happens that my trip to Kuching for my best friend's wedding coincidently happens in the first weekends of the month where USK Kuching have their usual monthly sketchwalk on the first Sunday of every month.
It should be coincidentally instead of coincidently.

100% upvote from me. 😁😁 I must learn from you bro 🤣

Thank you bro..! But i wonder learn what yeahhh 🤔🤔 hahahahaha 😜

Amazing sketching as always... sketch nation is a community founded by you? And is it a Steemit community?

Yeah i started it in 2014..:) n now i am directing the movement towards a steemit community :)

Great.. if you need help from me to take photos to help promote the community, please let me know.. I am sure many other Steem-Cartoonists will also be happy to to support:)

Wow! @kymio you draw and sketch so well. I wish I could but then art was never my strong suite. I do enjoy watching the process though through your timelapse video! If you are planning on doing one in KL I will definitely pop by to see!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45