For the love of Sketching...

in #sketching7 years ago (edited)

The strongest memory I have of myself as a 2 year old, is holding a pencil and a book and scribbling something all the time... Everyone who saw me then always said - "She will become an artist".

All through my life colours kept inspiring me. I was made to join B.G.M., a renowned art school in Mangalore which was close to my paternal grandparents house at the tender age of 3. Salim and Shabbir, who were my teachers , were very patient and educative and let my talent flow. I can recall those flowy shapes that I drew even till date. All my life I never liked the traditional art school teaching and I soon discontinued.

I was 11, when I met the Shevgoors and I instantly knew how much I love art. I used to spend hours together in their workshop and keep looking at their portraits and other art work. As a curious kid I used to keep asking them questions and they would patiently answer each one of them.

The younger sibling of the two, Vishnu Shevgoor soon started an art school, Shevgoor School of Art and I was his first student. Vishnumam (as I fondly call him) is whom I consider my guru. It was in this at class that I realised I have a good hand at sketching with colour pencils. He helped me a lot in improving that skill.

As time passed, things soon changed and I could not continue going to the art school, but the skills Vishnumam imbibed in me just kept growing strong.

Right now I'm in Sydney, Australia on a tourist visa since my husband, Sujay is working here. With lots of time in hand I decided to get back to sketching.
The picture below is a result of the same.

image

It took me 5 hours to complete this beauty. This sketch only goes to say that any talent that you love will only keep getting better with time.

Thank you @firepower for introducing me to this platform. I'll see you guys around with more sketches soon.

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @namratasujay I have upvoted and sent you a tip

Fantastic work @namratasujay! I'm thrilled to see you here and blogging away! :)

Welcome Namratasujay its good to see more new users around. Have fun in this community. I wish you many followers and new friends :-) Cheers @chrisx

hi @Namratasujay I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community :) Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @khunpoom

Thank you all

Your masterpiece reminds me of my dear friend... thanks for sharing this one!

Hey! Check my first post Introduction I would appreciate if you can leave some comments :) Don't forget to follow back :)

I love this. Looking at this makes me feel relaxed, as if I really was looking at nature.

Beautiful artwork and introduction :)
@firepower sent me here! Welcome aboard 🙂

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81