Sketch Drawing Contest #3 | Rose Maiden | My First Drawing of the Year

Rose Maiden.png

Where are the fairies?
Where can we find them?
We've seen the fairy-rings
They leave behind them!
Is it a secret
No one is telling?
Why, in your garden
Surely they're dwelling!
No need for journeying,
Seeking afar;
Where there are flowers
There fairies are!

Where? by Cicely Mary Barker


I legit believed in Fairies when I was a little girl. One time I was thinking about it and realized I believed in them until I was in elementary school and already learning about Science and the natural world. Somewhere between this time and starting high school, the belief just sort of faded and was replaced with empirical facts and figures.

But! That didn't stop me from reading about them and drawing them, of course. Even now when I think of flowers, sometimes I still like imagining Fairies hiding beneath petals and leaves, observing clumsy humans passing them by.

This is the concept behind this drawing, which is an entry for @sparkyez's third #sketchdrawing contest with the theme, ROSE.


Process:

I started drawing this close to midnight on year's eve and finished about 15 minutes past 12 so this makes my little Rose Maiden my first drawing of 2018!

I used to draw Fairies with wings, but I'm always poring over children's books (with tons of illustrations) and have seen a few versions where they don't have wings, and I kind of like that idea too.

I drew on my new Berkely Sketch Notebook, given to me for my birthday! And also...

  • Faber-Castell 4H pencil for the outline
  • Uchida .005 pen in black
  • Uni Pin .5 pen in black for darker shadows

Rose Collage 1.png

Drawing at night because it was a busy day with the family. :) Here's the last step: shading.

Rose Collage 2.png

This was a small drawing of an even smaller subject. :) What do you think of my little friend? Leave me a comment below and show some love!


That's it! And thanks for taking a peek at my little sketch.

Happy New Year everyone and see you soon
Bis balt
Hasta pronto,

Noelle.png


Follow me to see more artistic attempts @noellesevilla

ART PROMO GIF.gif


Steemit Achievers Logo.png

Sort:  

You are absolutely wonderful at drawing! Wow. Really enjoy following you. What will you come up with next?

Thank you! I try to make every piece as interesting as I can. 😉

What a sweet fairy! Good luck in the contest :)

Thank you deeeee! Excited for art storm!

excelent work i love drawing too ..happy new year

Thanks, I'll def check out your art!

You did a great job, in 15 min? this is so good.
happy new year dear :)

Mmm maybe about 20 to 25 mins. I started 11:50-55pm. It's also a small sketch. Lol.

Thanks for dropping by Jeet and happy new year!

Big things have small beginnings :3
it maybe small but it has a big value to the viewers's eyes.

Happy New Year! :)
Wala ako hilig dyan. Hilig ko i____draw numbers 😂
Nominate ko po kayo sa sevendaybnwchallenge if di nyo pa nagawa yun 😊

Hahahaha. Happy new year! Pano mag b and w challenge? Pag aralan ko muna friend. Baka mali magawa ko. Lol 😂 thanks for your comment!

Copied ko lang "The Rules" then nominate lang ng isang member daily 😊

Sige2x, ma try nga.. Hehehe 😊

Start ka po bukas 👍😅
Niready ko na posts for 7 days.
Ty 👏🏼

LOL. Sige2x. Di ako magaling mag photo pero try ko lang for the char. :)

Grabe! Mas madali naman magclick ng camera kaysa magdrawing 😂😂😂

Lovely art, I really enjoy it!

Thank you very much, happy new year! 🎉

What a wonderful work! Keep it up!

Thank you friend! Happy 2018!

galing talaga ibang klac talaga to cla eh.,

Salamat @g10a :) Happy new year!

Beautifully done! When is deadline for the contest?

Hello marina! I am actually not sure. The contest runs for 7 days from the time @sparkyez posted the new theme announcement. You can check and hopefully join too! Your work is phenomenal.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68648.42
ETH 3813.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48