Theresa Puts On A Great Show Connecting With The Dead

in #skepticism8 years ago (edited)

My son is a skeptic. He can’t believe that he is watching Theresa Caputo, the psychic medium with the hit TV show, connect with the dead in front of him. Messages from the departed to their loved ones were delivered live with amazing accuracy last month at The Abbotsford Events Center. My son has seen her TV show, but wants to see her connect with his own eyes.  

“My son, my son!” she said. A mother’s spirit guided Theresa to a man up in the risers to the left of us. Her blonde head whizzed past our seats then she struggled up the stairs in six inch high bling pumps.“Did your Mom pass?” She asked the son. ”Yes” he said. “She had a bunch of kids, but were her favorite?” “Yes,” the man said. “Do you hear footsteps at night” “Yes” he said. “Stand up please” said Theresa. He reluctantly stood. He had the same look on his face as my son. “When you hear footsteps at night, know that is your mother,” said Theresa. He looks really nervous now.He answers “no” to Theresa’s next questions, as if he didn’t want to co-operate, but his wife beside him is nodding yes to them. An hour earlier she read a tattooed bodybuilder in a muscle shirt. He said “no” five times when she asked if he drove a pick-up truck “like a Ford F-150 or something.” His partner repeatedly nodded in agreement. Finally Theresa said “your partner says you drive a pick-up!”

“It’s a Chevy,” he said.

Theresa came down to the floor and continued to read the girl in front of us. She said that her mom that was in the hospital has been given the wrong diagnosis. She told her to get her kidneys checked instead.The live performance has been filled with laughter and tears for the past hour and a half. Her readings have been spot on accurate, heartbreaking and entertaining. For comic relief in between, she steals people’s french fries, and does a “burpee” or a “squat thrust” on the floor in the high heeled shoes “because she’s wearing Spanx” she said.

Enter The Prankster

But things fall apart as she walks back and forth to the son on the side, and the daughter in front of us. The lighting technician lights up our row she is so close. When the girl answered no to one of Theresa’s questions, she looked over at us with a puzzled look, as if wanting to ask a question.Theresa warned us when she channels spirit, the departed loved ones of people around them may show up too. She asked that we refrain from yelling or waving at her if we feel that our departed loved ones are contacting us during someone else’s reading. True to form, no-one has interrupted her on her Canadian tour, she said.

Theresa said she is a practicing Catholic and “they don’t like what I do, but they take my money every week” she said. "Does your mom pray to Saints? like St Jude, or The Sacred Heart?” she asked the girl in front, “Does she have a scapular?” “No” said the girl. Theresa looked over at us with a puzzled look. Yes, yes, and yes, I said to myself, but I didn’t raise my hand.

A scapular?? I haven’t heard that word in thirty five years! My mom's was blessed by the Priest, and she wore it inside her bra of all places, every day. She used to haul me on three buses to go to the Novena mass at St Jude’s Parish in Vancouver on Wednesdays, to pray for the hopeless. I prayed for the lepers, who were the most hopeless people in the world to me, isolated from everyone while they watched their flesh deteriorate and deform. My mom bought me a Sacred Heart house blessing plaque. She was a product of her Catholic upbringing in Northern Ireland, schooled by nuns in a convent, who smacked her frozen hands with a wooden stick if she was late.

While she went back and forth between the daughter and son near us Theresa looked bewildered. I felt that my departed mom was channeling through the girl’s mom and the son’s mom. I felt she was sending messages to my brother through the son, as my brother had a hard time climbing stairs with no rail.“I feel like I have a blood clot in my leg!” said Theresa. “Did your mom have a blood clot?” she asked the man. “No” he said. “Are You Catholic?” She asked. “No” he said. “I see rosary beads and a bible.” “Do you have a picture of your mom in a flowery dress or a flowery blouse?” “No,” he said.” Yes, yes, yes, and yes for me! My mom nearly died from a blood clot in her leg years ago, she prayed the rosary every night, and I have a photo of her at my house wearing a flowery blouse, sitting beside my brother.

My mom would have been affronted (her word) to be on camera on the big screen in front of 5,000 people in the stadium, so she contacted the man in the risers and the daughter in front of us through Theresa. She had a mischievous sense of humor, and loved to imitate people’s voices and make people laugh. So she pranked The Long Island Medium for us!

As we exited the building after the show, I thought it would all be too ‘woo woo’ for my son if I suggested his  Nana came through, so I was quiet. Instead, he said he was a fan of the medium. My mom’s last wishes were that we look out for my brother, who was like the son in the stands. He lives with us now, and my mom seemed pleased.
 

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65