Romeoville skatepark (Low poly 3D model) + backstory

in #skateboarding4 years ago

This 3d model of my hometown skatepark is the result of the connection of my passion for skateboarding and my love of 3d modeling.

IMG_20200630_145834_141.jpg

My origin story on how this came to be:

I grew up in a very small city in the suburbs, so small infact, that i knew everyone who skateboarded in the area. Which ended up being just under about a dozen people. At the time i was very young, something like 14 or 15. I bugged everybody i knew that could potentially drive me to the skatepark during that time.

Looking back on it now, the passion i had for skateboarding was undeniable. Every minute that i had,
I spent it asking someone to drive me to the skatepark, or skating in my basement. Just like a kid who just learned what chuck-e-cheese is, and that they live down the street from it.

Unfortunately, time goes on, opportunities arise, and respsonsibilities begin to pile up. Sometimes life will knock you off your board for a while, and i was no exception. My family moved to FL when i was about 16 from Illinois, a year later from FL to Arizona. So my only options of being able to skate became widled down to only a couple months, as AZ is around 100 degrees all summer.

After years of skateboarding, countlees hours of blood sweat and tears, and about 2 dozen skateboards. My run has slowly began to come to a stop, i havent skated in almost 2 years now. And have turned to game development and 3d modeling in an effort to persue another passion of mine.

It was this year when i began to respark my joy of skateboarding. I have moved back to my home state with a gf i've been with since highschool, and started to merge my two passions into one. For 2 years i have felt like a caged bird, slowly hatching my escape. This year im beginning to realize all hope is not lost, it's never to late to kickstart an old hobby or passion.

I encourage you to look back on any of your lost passions or hobbies. You honestly might just suprise yourself learning that you still got it, even now, years later.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67900.86
ETH 3250.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63