Did you know that the star of ‘My Name Is Earl’ Jason Lee used to be a pro skateboarder?

in #skateboarding7 years ago (edited)

In fact, he even co-founded the skateboard company Stereo Sound Agency.

It's true: Jason Lee, best known for playing Earl Hickey in the hit television series My Name Is Earl was a professional skateboarder before he started his acting career. In fact, he even co-founded a skateboard company.

Born in California in 1970, Jason Lee was fairly influential during skateboarding's very pivotal late 80s and early 90s and became known for his style and 360 flips. In 1992, he founded Stereo Sound Agency, better known as Stereo Skateboards, with fellow skater Chris "Dune" Pastras. In 2003, after the company had been defunct for a few years, the pair successfully revived the company which sells decks, wheels, and skate clothing.

Perhaps Lee's most well know skateboarding part was in the skateboarding promotional video, Video Days, filmed for the skateboarding company Blind Skateboards. Originally released in 1991, apart from Jason Lee's old school high-tops, the video part concludes with an infamous vocal performance from the man himself.

[embed]

[/embed]

Does Jason Lee still skateboard?


In a 2009 interview with Metro, the then 38-year-old revealed that he was dialling down his skateboarding:

My son is five now and he’s skateboarding. On the weekends we cruise around together but we don’t do anything hard because I don’t want to get injured. But I still cruise around on the old skateboard, yeah.

In the 90s when I did it 25 was old to be competing but these days skateboarders are still professional in their 30s so things have changed now. Back then I left skateboarding and thankfully acting took off because I didn’t go to college, I left school early.
Lee, now 47, still loves skateboarding, though, and has featured in a number of skate videos on RIDE Channel and other popular skateboarding websites in recent years.

[embed]

[/embed]

In 2012, Lee participated in the ninth annual Stand-Up for Skateparks Event, which he chaired with Tony Hawk. The event is held annually by the Tony Hawk Charitable Foundation and seeks to “help create free, quality public skateparks for youth in low-income communities.”

He worked with Tony Hawk again when he lent his voice and likeness to Tony Hawk's Project 8 to become a playable character. He also voiced Coach Frank, a character created during the development of Stereo, in Skate 3.

My Name Is Earl Revival


Since the final episode of My Name Is Earl aired in 2008, Jason has had a number of other film and TV roles, most notably as Dave in the Alvin and the Chipmunks film franchise and as the voice of Syndrome in The Incredibles.

According to a recent ET interview with My Name Is Earl co-star Jaime Pressly, there's a chance that the hit show could make a comeback at some point in the near future. Since the show concluded, Pressly has been working with My Name Is Earl creator Greg Garcia, as well as other Earl stars on various projects. According to the ET article, the actress credits their continued working relationship to their great “synergy” and says that Garcia could get the My Name Is Earl cast back together for a revival in a heartbeat:

There's a synergy that you never lose when you get somebody great, and you have a great chemistry with someone that you work with.

With Earl, he just let me kind of do my thing. He and the writers wrote us the most incredible dialogue ever, but he let me kind of fly by the seat of my pants, and go as far out as I wanted to, and let me do my thing, because he trusted me and respected me as an actor, and when somebody treats you that way, and gives you that kind of respect, it makes you better, no matter what it is. [It's] the same thing in any relationship. It makes you better.

I don't know anybody who was a part of that show that wouldn't go back and do it again. It would all be up to Greg Garcia, and if he made the call... Hell, he wouldn't have to call, all he has to do is send out a mass email to all of us and we'd all be like, 'Yup, I'm in.' That would be it, because it was one of the greatest experiences of anybody's life that was a part of that show, and I don't know anybody who would say no to that man.
So, whether it's on a skateboard or playing another crazy TV character, we'll definitely be seeing more of Jason Lee.

Featured image: Screenshot from video


“Adventure is Everywhere!”

@adaptnetwork

Proudly part of the smartsteem community

Sort:  

You just received a 13.71% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @adaptnetwork!
WaveSmall.gif

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83