What's pissing me off today

in #sjw6 years ago

I've been increasingly pissed off over the past few years as people have become more and more tied to ideology rather than thinking. Perhaps I'm naive and still dream of a past where opinions were formed through proper thought instead of Facebook headlines and upvotes, but it has been a pain in my ass for quite some time.

I recently lost a friendship I believe and it's all over an argument that was taken incorrectly by the other party. What was the topic? Oh, well that's easy. "Black people can't be racist!" Of course not. Why would they be? Hatred is reserved to the privileged. And as a white male, I reap the reward of being the only gender/race combination that it's socially acceptable to hate.

So what exactly happened? Well, a friend of mine (still my friend although the feeling is most likely no longer mutual) posted a video with a person explaining this bullshit idea. I proceeded to call out the bullshit idea (for science) and was called racist. Yes, I am racist for saying that black people can be racist. I am a racist because I don't believe the color of your skin has anything to do with your ability to hate another person.

My friend literally said "I don't like white people" and continued to state that he is not racist and can't be because, well, reasons. The worst part is that his friends chimed in saying things like "he's just not ready".

Not ready for what exactly? Not ready to submit to ideologies that are incredibly racist? Not ready to just sit down and listen to you hate an entire race based on skin color? No. I'm not ready to understand their struggle. Huh? Wait a minute... Pointing out that black people can be racist means that I am saying racism doesn't exist? Yes, apparently it does. This is the logic you get from the BLM crowd. It's the same dumbassery that comes with every ideology, but recently I believe it ended a friendship.

/rant

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20