You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today's lunch, a green smoothie, is my week One entry in the Six Week Health health Challenge!

in #sixweekhealth7 years ago

That sounds wonderful. I'm a big lover of smoothies but have never thought to put egg whites in them. What a great alternative to the yucky protein powder that I usually use.
Trying to get back on my health track here. Reading posts like yours are very inspirational!

Sort:  

Egg whites are actually very smart to put in for proteins and it doesn't taste anything so makes a neutral addition to the smoothies. The only problem I end up with is what I'm going to do with the yolk :) I am working on getting back into my healthy track as well, so suddenly there might be another post about a healthy choice. :)

I was going to suggest making custard out of the yolks but I guess that wouldn't be in line with healthy choices, ha ha. I don't like wasting either so would also have to find something to use the egg yolk for. I did once read of an idea to put it in oatmeal or porridge to give it a nutritional boost. It seems like it would be good, adding a nice creamy texture. Kids can always use those extra calories :)

hahaha, great tip.. Bearnais Sauce or Holandaise is also a good way for using the yalks, but same as with the custard... One of my son only eat the yalk so I should give them to him:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.56
ETH 2523.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36