#sixweekhealth Week Three: Ways to De-Stress— Benefits of ACUPUNCTURE

in #sixweekhealth6 years ago

Hi Steemians! This challenge came at an apropos time— just as I’m in the process of developing my Stress Reduction Online Program for my patients. Stress, pain, and mental health issues are the most common reasons that patients come to me for acupuncture. Chronic stress manifests as a wide range of emotional, physical, cognitive and behavioral symptoms. In many cases, they are able to find relief through acupuncture reporting stable mood, improved energy, and decreased worry or nervous tension.

There have been various studies in the literature that shows that acupuncture prior to an embryo transfer in IVF decreased the perceived stress of the procedure. There was also a study that showed that rats who received electronic acupuncture had lower stress hormones.

Personally, I see a naturopath and an acupuncturist to have acupuncture done on myself. It’s a great way to unwind after a hectic day. It helps balance the excess or deficient qi (chi) in the body. When I was in naturopathic medical school, I went for acupuncture treatment weekly. It was my own special hour dedicated to self-care and renewal. Unfortunately, I don’t have as much time now that I’m in practice to see my doctor. But when I do, I definitely feel more centered, balanced, and relaxed.

These are the materials I use for acupuncture:
00ADE47A-6341-452B-9ECD-B73E178529A2.jpeg

On a clean field, I have my acupuncture needles. They are very thin and fine. They don’t hurt on insertion, except for certain bony or vascular areas. And even then, it may hurt for a second or two then it goes away. I talk my patients through insertion and ensure they are comfortable.

Prior to insertion, I sanitize my hands. Cotton balls are then used to swab the points of insertion with alcohol. And after 30 minutes of leaving the needles in place, I remove them and discard them
into a sharps container.

![6E481C08-8B7B-4ED4-9EF3-957589B10978.jpeg](

This is how my acupuncture room at the clinic looks like. There are also acupuncture charts on the wall for my quick reference when I need to remember where a certain point is located on the body. There are hundreds of points to remember!

44EACE8D-D285-4D09-972D-E8C71BA02D52.jpeg

Always remember to consult a licensed acupuncturist or naturopathic doctor for an acupuncture treatment. Don’t do this at home folks! But I do encourage everyone to try acupuncture for stress relief! 😊

Sort:  

Very interesting!! I thought of making an education for actupuncture as well. Just started my osteopathy education and I believe those two work together really good :) Thanks for your informative post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45