My 1st Day at Steemit Bootcamp for Ladies ~ simply awesome!

in #sitec7 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was my 1st day Steemit Bootcamp for Ladies. That was actually the second time I heard about Steemit. The first time was at HER Conference in NOV 2017 where Simon @bitrocker2020 did an introduction on Steemit

I have always wanted to start a blog. Having to work with bloggers before during my ad agency years, I was interested in starting one. But usual excuses came up, like no time, what to write and eventually procrastinating till now. When I first heard about Steemit, I still didn’t want to start. It seemed quite “technical”.

Thanks to @carolfung, she put up an invitation to join this awesome Steemit Bootcamp for Ladies. It is a great opportunity for me to start. Seriously, if not now then when will I ever start, right? It felt like having a safety net below me, having experts like @maverickfoo, @elizacheng, @angiechin28, @bitrocker2020 and Debbie to share their wonderful experience being part of Steemit.

The bootcamp was held in iCity, Shah Alam. The first time I was there was many, many, many years ago. It was not easy to find the venue. Thankfully there was a Post Office and where else is better to ask for directions other than the postman himself. Reached destination at 2pm sharp. Whew!

Selangor Digital Creative Centre is a beautiful open space where people can rent space to work, have workshops and meetings. It was fun and hilarious having @maverickfoo introducing Steemit to the ladies. Sharing with us his experience and free websites to utilize. He claimed he is a cheapo, you know what? So am I… hahaa.. anything free to use, bring it! It is truling amazing to learn that there are over 700 people in #teammalaysia. And still growing!

What have I learned Day 1 in Steemit Bootcamp?
• What is Steemit all about
• What is Steem Dollars
• How to get started
• Setting up my account
• Writing an introduction about myself
• How to get content ideas
• Posting and insert photos in my post

By the end of the session, we had a group shot and there was even a delicious spread of fried meehoon, sardine puff and kuih prepared for us.

To my pleasant surprise, I met my old colleague, Jacqueline. We used to celebrate each other’s birthday because we share the same birth date. Also met @karttina as well. We build mobile apps and games together. I had no idea she was attending the bootcamp.

By the end of the session, it was raining heavily, cats and dogs? Not even close. More like elephants and rhinos... Took me almost 2 hours to get home. Furthermore, there was a flood near my home. My mom warned me about the flood, asking me to take an alternative route home.


FB photo credit to Clarissa Ng


FB photo credit to Wendy Goh

I was in such a high spirit after the bootcamp, even the jam and flood didn’t dampen my spirits. Can’t wait for Day 2 tomorrow!

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit @almost5feet4 hahaha ur ID is so cute. Hope i can remember.

Followed u too...

Do write good content to have more followers!

Hahaha.. Thanks @carolfung! The other day, i was debating with my hubby saying that I'm 5'4". He said cannot be, so we decided to measure and he blurted out "Almost 5 feet 4 la.." So it's now stuck to my head ;D

Ha! I will remember your handle coz I am @almost5feet4... maybe shorter now as we shrink the older we get. Steem on!

Hahaha.. maybe in 10-20 years will have to change to almost 5 feet ;D

Welcome @almost5feet4! I think we are the same height! Lols

Hahaha.. Kita sama-sama gang!

ocd@originalworks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60384.14
ETH 2591.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55