TIL: What Are Those "Squiggly Lines" (Eye Floaters) That Appear In Your Field Of Vision?

Have you ever noticed those squiggly lines that come into your field of vision from time to time?
They kind of look like worms, and are usually a light grey color - almost like a shadow.
Once you try to look at them, they disappear or drift more to the side.

So what are these mysterious floating lines in your eye?!


Have you ever seen something like this floating in your field of vision?


First of all, don't worry, they're normally not dangerous.

These "Eye Floaters" or "Floating lines" are scientifically called "Muscae Volitantes", which means 'Flying Flies' in Latin.
They're not bugs, they're not an object in the real world (only you can see them), but they are actually inside of your eyeball.

To understand this, we have to look at the anatomy of our eyeballs first:

Between the pupil and the retina, there is a big space inside of your eyeball, which is filled with a gooey, gel-like liquid (it's a similar consistency to egg whites.)
This is called the "Vitreous Humour", or only "The Vitreous", and consists of 99% water.
The other one percent are collagen fibers, and this is what creates that gel-like consistency.

These collagen fibers spread as a network of tiny lines across your vitreous.
Sometimes, these lines are so close together that the collagen actually clumps together due to molecular attraction.

When the light now casts a shadow on your retina, the shadows of these lumps are what you see as floaters (you're not actually seeing the real thing, just a shadow of it!)

Usually you won't even be able to see that - it only happens when the collagen lumps are particularly close to the retina (only a few millimeters apart from it!), then they appear to be quite big in our field of vision although they really aren't .

You can't focus on them because they are floating with the movement of your eye - if you look to the left, they also float to the left, and so on.
You should only worry about floaters if you suddenly see a lot of them appearing at once, paired with flashes of light - that might be signs of your retina detaching.

But normally, they are absolutely harmless.

You might have noticed that you only see these floaters once in a while and not all the time.

But funny enough, a floater that you've once seen is still there - they don't naturally go away. You just don't see them all the time.
This has 2 reasons:
1) You don't see floaters a lot in your daily life. They only come to our attention when we're looking at a blank, bright surface. For example an empty, white computer screen, or a bright blue sky.
Only then, the light will cast a shadow on those floaters that's actually significant enough for you to notice them.
2) You would theoretically see them more often, but your brain purposely decides to "ignore" them.
This is a phenomenon called "Sensory Adaptation".
Our brain shuts out some things from our attention - because otherwise, we'd go crazy.
Imagine you would constantly be aware of your breathing, the feeling of your back against the char, saliva accumulating in your mouth, or an old bruise on your skin.
All of this information is not necessary to be processed at all times, so your brain fades it out - this is also the reason why you sometimes forget the glasses your looking for are on your head, or you forget you're wearing a piece of jewelry that you have on at all times.

So in case of the floaters, chances are your brain is purposely fading them out because they're constantly in your field of vision and not moving.



As you can see, these eye floaters are a harmless and totally normal condition.

You can actually prepare yourself for seeing more of those as you age - because when we get older, the volume of liquid in our vitreous decreases, making floaters appear more regularly.



Images: 1, 2, 3, 4 , Sources: 1, 2, 3



- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 

Sirwinchester


Sort:  

Wow thanks. Interesting. Always wondered! Resteemed

Thank you, I appreciate the support!

Do you have eye floaters?
Eye floaters are driving me crazy lately. On a white background of the computer screen i see them behind the text i'm reading.

Yup, they are annoying. Some days worse than others. When I get a new one it's all I can see until my brain gets used to it being there then it's invisible or less noticeable.

I was aware of that because I researched it some time ago. While I was a child I was really concerned about that!
I remember I was always noticing those things when I was at the beach getting sunbaths. When I found out they were not evil bugs living in my eyes I was so relieved.
Thanks for the post. It's really informative.

Thank you for the compliment!
And yes I can imagine that this would worry a child quite a bit, it really does look like there are worms inside your eyes!

@sirwinchester, sometimes i swat at them like a bug is in my sight.

I guess that doesn't help to keep them away though? hahaha

I wondered about these "floaters" myself very often but didn't stop to think about it in more depth. Well explained!

Thank you, glad that you liked it and learned something new as well!

Thank you. I wondered about this many times, and didn't know what they were.

Glad to hear that it made you learn something new :)

Very good, always wondered what that is, nice post !

Thank you, glad that I could help clear this up :)

I have had them since I was at school. Remember worrying about it a lot back then! These days I don't notice them so much. Mostly because I'm too busy focusing my eyes on that which I have to get done!

Yes it's best not to pay too much attention to them, but I can imagine how scary these are for a child!

I have dozens of these now. I remember the first time I noticed one, I thought a fly was buzzing around my face and my dad thought I was crazy. Over time, it's just gotten worse. I don't see clear skies anymore. They're everywhere.

Maybe if you have that many, you should check with a doctor, I mean they're probably not dangerous but I'm pretty sure you can get them removed.

Kind of ironic for a photographer, isn't it? lol

It was a pleasure for me to read your post. Very informative! Keep sharing with us, Winchester :)

Thank you for your kind feedback, I appreciate it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67441.24
ETH 3492.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81