@Sirwinchester: Let me show you my passion - DANCE! #13

in #sirwinchester7 years ago (edited)

img


Although I teach mostly choreography in my dance classes, Freestyle is also a very important part of dancing.

To be a dancer, you should move freely to the music - let it take control over your body.
Whether you know the song or not, just go with the flow and improvise with what's coming next.

So today, after the regular class had ended, I decided to do some freestyle exercises with some of my students.
We were standing in a circle, and began grooving to the music - everybody for themselves.

There is no right or wrong, just move however you feel.

img


Next, I wanted to increase the difficulty and do an improvisation exercise.

Now the challenge would be to freestyle together, without knowing what the other person is going to do next.
Plus, you have to interact in sync with the music - without knowing the song!

I started with a freestyle on my own ...

img


Then, I involved one of my students @aishaofficial in my freestyle!

As you can see, you have to be very careful and aware of your partner in this task, otherwise it can be easy to bump into each other!

..And all of that while synchronizing to the music.

img


Then I was moving backwards, and I wasn't sure where my other student Gloria was standing.

But I could sense that she was somewhere behind me.

So I just moved slowly with the flow, until we were back to back.
I improvised with my arms and as you can see she reacted right away!

img


Next, I moved across the room to @mrs.steemit.

I adjusted my movements so that they would synchronize with hers, switching between standing and moving on the ground.

Randomly, we decided to end with that pose, standing next to each other - that was a total coincidence!

img


Remember that dancing is the pure expression of joy.

What to people do when they're overly happy or excited? They may scream and jump up and down, but they also dance!
There is no right or wrong in dancing, that's why I like to let my students freestyle from time to time.
It might be an uncomfortable feeling when you first start, because you feel like everyone is looking at you and maybe you are not that confident with your dance moves yet.

But the more you practice, the more comfortable you will feel while freestyling.

Just try to remember that feeling when you're alone in your room, listening to an awesome song and automatically moving your body to it - that is freestyle!


To dance is to be out of yourself. Larger, more beautiful, more powerful.

~ Agnes De Mille






Want to get featured on my blog? Register for Steemit Promo

- Instagram -

- Steemit FB Group - 


© Sirwinchester


Sort:  

Is it okay for me to look like I am having a seizure when I dance? I hope it is.

Like I said, there's no right or wrong! As long as you feel happy when you dance and you do it for fun, it's all good

Hell yeah, all about enjoying yourself. This 6'4" skinny whiteboy is known for breaking it down on the dance floor on a Saturday night. There's a little rhythm in there, so I am told.

Cool man! Just keep freestyling. I know the feeling of just creating without thinking and just feeling. I shared my two creations on my blog, if you want to check it out :)

Thanks! Appreciate it!

you're welcome :)

😬 thank you!

You have a great gift, thanks for sharing.

Thank you for the compliment, appreciate it!

A sincere pleasure, just wish I had 1/4 of your gift. For now I'll stick with slow dancing.

That's very kind, thank you - but slow dancing is fine too

As always LOVE taking your class and experimenting with freestyle. This one was particularly challenging and fun at the same time :)

😁 🙌 These freestyle exercises are when you really grow!

I enjoyed this and the comments. Some of the comments reminded me of a Getrude Stein quip:

"You look ridiculous if you dance. You look ridiculous if you don't dance. So you might as well dance." :-)

Hahaha, yes I've heard that quote too - it's true!

Amazing post friend, the moves are beautiful and well coordinated....you obviously are a good dancer :)

Thank you for the compliment! Yes it just takes lots of practice!

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Jun 11. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $125.28 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 11 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64122.04
ETH 2745.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66