You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Do Violent Video Games Actually REDUCE Violence and Crimes?!

in #sirwinchester8 years ago

I actually raised my kids the opposite of the reactionary fear hype. I let them watch violent movies, and play violent video games. I simply taught them the difference between games, movies, and real life.

I had probably the least aggressive and passive kids around. They certainly were not violent, or quick to anger.

On the flip side I had some friends who sheltered their children from ALL of that. Their son ended up being one of the most aggressive and violent kids in the school.

I've written about what I think is going on here awhile ago in my post on taboos, censorship, banning, prohibition, etc.

Sort:  

That's a very interesting point of view, and in my opinion a great parenting style.
This example doesn't only work for violence, I also know some kids who would go crazy whenever there was free candy offered anywhere because their parents didn't allow any candy at home.
But other who just always had sweets in their cupboard didn't even feel the need to eat it if it was just laying there openly.
I think not having strict guidelines but instead teaching and having the kids understand WHY the rules are like that is the better approach.

I did have rules and my kids were not always happy they were there, but I told them "there is a reason for every rule", if you want me to explain any of them feel free to challenge me. IF it doesn't make sense or you can convince me then it will no longer be a rule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59467.52
ETH 2609.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38