You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: R.I.P. King Bhumibol (King Of Thailand)

in #sirwinchester8 years ago (edited)

I don't understand why people would hail the King this much.

Any person who gets that much adoration so that people stand up for him in the cinemas before a movie starts where they play propaganda of how 'great' he is, and anyone who allows people to be put in jail for insulting him/her or his/her dog, is in my opinion a very bad and self-obsessed person. I also don't buy into the official story that the King's brother had committed suicide. It worries me that people are so gullible and easily submit themselves to their rulers.

Sort:  

Because it's always been that way. The Thai aren't coming from a Democracy with fresh eyes. I thought the same as you when everyone stood in the movie theater. I'm looking around like, "Are you kidding?" I did stand out of "respect" but was laughing inside. He had them wrapped around his finger. Monarchies are absurd servitude.

The assumption that the love we have for our king is purely because we are under-educated and the failure to recognize his accomplishments, because you're stuck with his title, is superficial and pure ignorance in truths and dimensions of people and society of other cultures.

But that’s ok.

I’m not writing all this to beg you to love whom we love or even to respect him.

I understand if you do not understand our loyalty to him.

What I’m asking for is very simple: let us grieve.

You would see us cry. You would see us try to do things we believe are ways to repay his love and his hard work for us. You may not understand any of this and that’s ok. But, please, let us grieve. Be respectful to our loss.

If you don’t understand the concept of how losing our beloved King could be so painful, at least, I believe, you would be able to understand the pain of losing someone you genuinely love and respect; Can you?

It’s not too difficult, is it?

Your life will carry on as usual, even when you don’t talk about us. But our lives… our lives have changed and our hearts brokened.

Let us grieve, let us mourn, and let us do what we want to do. Stop attacking us, at least not at this time of mourning. Be respectful to this great loss.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59010.30
ETH 2515.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45