You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: STEEM PROPOSAL: Implementing Third Party Certificate Authorities To Combat Sybil

in #sip8 years ago

I have to admit that I didn't carefully read this but I think that something like this would make lots of ordinary people to stay away from STEEM, doesn't this add a level of complexity? people are already complaining about something as simple as the 16 char password.

too much brain fog for me to think clearly right now....

Sort:  

Admittedly, this is a rough draft and could be written clearer. It may sound complicated, but I think that it is fairly straightforward. The process could be streamlined to make it as simple as uploading someone's ID scan. Also, people should still get paid if they don't want to verify their identities, but I think more weight should be given to those that are willing to. It is easy to fake online identities, so this is just a way to combat against that (on top of what is already implemented in Steem.)

It is just a proposal, but I have no doubt that it would help weed out sock puppets. It comes down to whether people are willing to substitute convenience and a small amount of privacy (to only the CAs, as the Identity Hash would be anonymous) for more fairness in content curation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61829.34
ETH 2395.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63