Why I feel like a Foreigner in my own country now?

in #singapore6 years ago

Today's Topic: Why I feel like a Foreigner in my own country now?

Many many years ago, when I was attending an international class in America, there were students from many countries, including Hong Kong.

And then there was a discussion between the similarities of Hong Kong and Singapore, both very successfully economical cities.

I disagreed that there should be no comparison because the baseline question is WRONG, although those from Hong Kong insist the similarities.

Why?

Hong Kong is a City, like London, or New York, New York.

Singapore is a Nation. No comparison, wrong question, and I asked the Professor to correct the question.

I had always been proud previously that because every time I read the local news about Singapore becoming Number 1 in this or that, my Livelihood eventually becomes better for my family, siblings and myself, because I trust those governing our nation does their job for the nation and the people.

Not anymore, in fact these days I feel more like a foreigner in my own country, while real foreigners are more at home in Singapore.

Perhaps foreigners are enjoying the same feeling I had previously as their lives improves tremendously but not me nor many fellow Singaporeans.

Take a MRT trip, walk the streets, go to Chinatown which feels like real China now, or opposite People's Park, etc, it's more likely you bump into a foreigner, hardly hears any Hokkien, Teochew, Hakka, Hainan spoken or Singish, etc.

The Spirit is dead, once the Soul is destroyed.

If current 5.6 million population is the result, I can't imagine when we hit 6.9 million or the 10 million secret hidden agenda.

By then, I will feel more like an outer space alien compared to my current feeling being a foreigner in my own country.

Something is WRONG, very WRONG.

MONEY WORSHIP IS THE GOAL, NOTHING ELSE !!

I hope I am the only one feeling this way because if many fellow Singaporeans feel this way too, something gonna give.

Thank you.

David Lim. 2 August 2018.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35