Changes to the PSLE Scoring System : I don't think it's going to change things.

in #singapore8 years ago

Context : https://www.facebook.com/TheStraitsTimes/videos/10153615748107115/

So I finally caught up on the changes (Not really immediately relevant to me since I took the PSLE 20 years ago and have no kids at the moment).

I actually don't think it's going to change how much pressure the kids go through anyway. Why? Because eventually most parents I know will want their kid to shoot for the highest band. All rounded education is still eventually interpreted by parents to be all-rounded excellence so as the system measures a broader set of metrics to 'score' a student with the intent of recognising a student's holistic 'value', parents who don't want their kids to miss out of any future opportunities then pressure their kids to excel in everything 'just in case'. 

In this new set of changes, it feels more like it's going to become the O Levels where everyone's going to be trying to get AL1 for every subject and see who gets the lowest aggregate score. I also wonder how people will order their school choices. It honestly feels like it might end up about luck. :/

I'm pretty happy I went through much simpler times in the past.

Do you think this new one is better? 

Note: Since Steemit still doesn't really show context clearly, for clarity this news is related to the Primary School Leave Exam(PSLE) system used in Singapore to stream students to their Secondary Schools at the end of the Primary School education phase. They're usually 12 years old at this point.

Sort:  

What a surprised to see Singapore news on Steemit..... Hello to my fellow Singaporean friend @ridz84

Hello! I assume you're Singaporean/based in Singapore too? Nice to see you here!

Hi I was browsing the #singapore tag! Sorry i am so late to this tag!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57563.20
ETH 3078.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41