Sort:  

I wonder about this idea. It's like saying if you run enough loads of laundry, eventually the load will come out of the dryer completely folded. For that to happen, to me, the laws of physics would have to change. Probability alone, I think, may not be enough. Then again, how would we know if the universe is infinite anyway?

read it again...everything that IS possible ...will happen. Is what you suggested possible?
'nuther thing...why do you think that they laws of physics and of probabilty are the same everywhere? what gave you that impression? I'm not saying that it's not so, but why do you think so?

Ah, thanks for the correction, I did indeed miss that. The trick then, I gues, is defining the realm of possibilities.

As to the laws of physics, I guess I've watched a lot of stuff like PBS Space Time. We know quite a bit, even down to the first moments of the universe and when different forces in physics started functioning as we know them. if things acted differently anywhere in the observable universe, I think we'd have signs of it. We're starting to know more about black holes, as an example. We will probably just to update what we know we instead of throwing things out.

it seems to me that there is a contradiction. When discussing cosmology and the big bang they postulate inflation at which time the laws of physics worked differently. By so doing the theory works. Oddly enough we no longer see any such thing as inflation.

odd that?

if the laws of physics worked differently then, in a different place, why not now?
Oh wait...what about the unexpected variation in the speed of the Voyager spacecraft when they got out from underneath the umbrella of the bowshock of the sun? Wouldn't that be an observed "it's acting differently than we expected it to according to the laws of physics"?

Hadn't heard of the Voyager discrepancy. Got a favorite write up or video on it? Sounds interesting. As to the changes in physics and whether the universe is to expand forever, contract, or something else, the Space Time series has covered a lot of that stuff, though some of the physics is well over my head. I do enjoy watching some of them twice in hopes some of it will sink in. :)

Hadn't heard of the Voyager discrepancy. Got a favorite write up or video on it? Sounds interesting. As to the changes in physics and whether the universe is to expand forever, contract, or something else, the Space Time series has covered a lot of that stuff, though some of the physics is well over my head. I do enjoy watching some of them twice in hopes some of it will sink in. :)
sorry...it was Pioneer
..Thirty years ago, NASA scientists noticed that two of their spacecraft, Pioneer 10 and Pioneer 11, were veering off course slightly, as if subject to a mysterious, unknown force. In 1998, the wider scientific community got wind of that veering—termed the Pioneer anomaly

Ah, interesting. Thanks, I'll check it out. Oh, next time please reply to a previous comment of mine when you hit the nesting limit so I get a notification. Otherwise I'll miss your comment. Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82