You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on Simplicity: Cutting Complexity with Steem 0.17.0

in #simplicity8 years ago

it's needed for steemit inc. to put comments on other web sites, like what discuss does, this is a great marketing tool for the steem blockchain

Sort:  

I was wondering if that was the purpose but have never directly heard as much... Here's to hoping that is the case! Thanks for the response.

I think the comment reward pool will create an insanely awesome new dynamic to Steem. At first I was very skeptic but now I'm really excited to see what will come out of it.

I have also joined the pro-comment-reward-pool camp. I think it will probably increase engagement a lot. Now new users will be able to actually make some STEEM just from commenting, so there won't be pressure on all the new users to become professional bloggers.

Less people blogging and more people commenting sounds pretty good to me.

Plus, it's a lot harder to game comment curation convincingly because the content of the comment becomes verification that the post has actually been read. For instance, I can vote on a blog post without reading it and no one will ever know but if I vote on a comment that has nothing to do with the blog, then it's obvious that I haven't read them both.

I'm also excited to see how it plays out!

Websites owners are only going to integrate steem if it benefits their existing userbase. Unfortunately most websites's cutomers will never spend 10k usd to be able to reward a couple cent to other comments.
If steemit inc was looking for this type of integration they would have flatten the reward curve or just removed entirely. I am yet to hear a valid reason to keep it and self voting is not it.

I'm looking forward to the 38% reduction in rewards for blog posts, and new users earning lots of steem from comments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62706.80
ETH 2439.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66