You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Update on Simplicity: Cutting Complexity with Steem 0.17.0

in #simplicity8 years ago

I'm a minnow and I can tell you, I did not have more power, though I considered powering up as I know as a dolphin I would have had. True the power is more spread out and that made it an interesting experiment. However, the rules weren't set, no post to say what threshold was considered "a collusive whale vote", guild votes or sock puppet voters were not taken into account, and when it came to negating the vote of one whale with 5 collusive whale accounts on the post the rules were bent and @abit went ahead and asked if it was ok to downvote.

The same rules did not apply to everyone. The experiment was a failure because the perameters were not disclosed or even standards set. The negated votes were completely random and some automated. I will still be interested in seeing what @abit learned from it, but it was never an experiment to be taken seriously when the post that explained it was something like 2 sentences long. Clearly, there wasn't enough thought put into it.

Sort:  

I've voted one of your post which has one vote and it raised the rewards from $0.012 to $0.013. It's next to nothing but it doesn't count. I, as a user, have noticed the rewards change after my vote, and it feels good.

One cannot notice this on Steemit, though. I'm using Busy (most of the times) which uses $x.xxx form instead of cents. It makes sense to me, because SBD has 3 decimal places. Maybe it would be better to use this form on Steemit, too.

I'm a minnow and I can tell you, I did not have more power.

You do have more power, everyone does. Try to upvote a post with a good payout and you will notice the difference.

LOL. I don't vote on posts with a good payout. That defeats the purpose of my vote. If their payout is good they dont need my vote, so no my say is not greater as a minnow. And by minnow I mean less than 10 M Vests.

That is because the n² curve. Everyone has more influence, but only last voters notice the difference.

It is greater than what it used to be before the experiment, Im not sure what you are arguing about.
If it still does not satisfy you, then eliminating n^2 probably will or just buy more steem power.

You seem upset that you have no say but what is your proposal to improve the situation? Incentivizing whales to not vote is the only solution afaik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62589.43
ETH 2437.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65