You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things I Have Learned To Live Without ...and why sometimes it's better

in #simplelife7 years ago

Good post indeed! We don't own or haven't ever owned a toaster, a microwave, a smart phone, a car that was newer than 10 years old, a pack-n-play, a clothes dryer, a television, a furnace, a coffee-maker, dishwasher, hmmm... I'm sure I could think of some more things... Hey its great. I might get a clothes dryer though ;) for rainy days...

Sort:  

Wow! Do you use wood heat?
And fair warning, it always cracks me up because I don't have kids and I never came across "pack n play" meaning "portable playpen" until I joined NextDoor (local social media, lots of neighbors giving away/selling/sharing items) and saw moms constantly asking to borrow one. It wasn't until someone posted a photo of one for sale in a bag labeled "Graco" that I realized OH IT'S A PLAYPEN. In the LGBT community (hi, friendly neighborhood queer here) it means something very different. 😂 Very, very different. Trans men and lesbians might buy one.
Now imagine my grossed out confusion over posts like:
"Does anyone have a pack n play I can borrow for the weekend?"
😱😱😱
Cross cultural lesson complete!

We do heat with wood, yes...

Oh my!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44