You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Things I Have Learned To Live Without ...and why sometimes it's better

in #simplelife7 years ago (edited)

So I get it and yes I understand. Sometimes the things are gone for other reasons. Health reasons alone have me given up on Salad Dressings, Fabric Softner, Dryer Sheets, Household Cleaners. An early retirement made us give up the second car 2 Tvs and a whole lot of shit. WE downsized our home hugely. I dont use a microwave and we dont have a smart phones. We cook from scratch and buy what we need. My pantry is full of spices and rice and beans. Just in case. My fridge looks like yours. I am appalled at the fridges of my friends and family. Chock full of all kinds of shit. 6 kinds of ice cream. Sauces and dressings and who knows what else. So bad. My parents were immigrants so we never had much. I dont remember being unhappy. I am however blessed, my home is comfy and cosy. I have given away bags of clothes and books. I have more to go but its so much work. Everything that is gone I do not miss. I am at peace. God Bless You.

Sort:  

Yeah, a couple of years back I got diagnosed with a pile of allergies and that eliminates most processed foods, and many body care products. But I had already been making my own body care and had to find workarounds to those because I am super allergic to latex (shea butter, pretty much any alternative to it), and all nuts and seeds (so many oils are out). So that has added to the simplification that was already underway.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59056.49
ETH 2597.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44